854 Comments

I don't want subscribers to donate. Don't want anybody to see a donate button on my page. The instructions say to go to Danger Zone and "disconnect stripe." I tried that, there is no such option.

Expand full comment

Let me do something for this thread. TALKERs, the magazine for Talk radio, has taken up production advisories for podcasters because there is so much professional crossover between formats.

Check out a sample of their guidance here: https://www.talkers.com/2021/06/21/monday-memo-podcasters-tell-the-world/

Expand full comment

Hello! I've seen people launching a free Substack newsletter first, to build a large community, and then later convert it into a paid one. Does anyone also followed that path? Have a nice day!

Expand full comment

Help please. How do I put a photo on my posts? I put one on my home page but find no other instructions for each post. (Did I look in the wrong place maybe?) Thanks.

Expand full comment

Thank you so much, that's so kind of you! 🙏

Expand full comment

I thought that this was an event scheduled for January 13 from 1 PM to 2 PM EST. However, I see posts on here from January 7. So please tell me: How does one proffer one's queries? Should we go to this page at any time.

Expand full comment

Man, I have written several charitable, funny and uproarious responses to various posts on here, but not a single person responds to any of my posts. More importantly, and more regrettably, none of my vexing questions, regarding impediments to the dissemination of my work product on substack, get answered. What I need is a book agent so I can concentrate on writing and not spend so much fucking time in the trenches of self promotion.

Expand full comment

Just dipped my toe into Substack. I'm 63, and trying to forge a new path for myself by starting my newsletter, https://eugeniebryan.substack.com/publish

How many posts should I be writing each week to attract subscribers?

Expand full comment

Question 3

Is there something wrong with my specific account. I am encountering the following errors and oddities: A) On a couple of occasions, I tried to send my posts to subscribers at a future time. However, the posts in question only went to SOME OF MY SUBSCRIBERS. Why is this. Is there something wrong with my account. B) Also, when I examine what posts various subscribers have read, I find that 90 percent of the time, a subscriber will open a post 4 times at the very same time. For example if Subscriber A looks at post B, the records will show that he looked at that post on four occasions and each occasion was at 1:03 PM on April 4. This seems most peculiar. Is my substack not working properly

Expand full comment

Question 2:

I am having problems regarding the most elementary issue in the realm: The proper way to post on substack. Please don’t refer me to the substack article appearing at https://support.substack.com/hc/en-us/articles/360037831771-How-do-I-publish-a-new-post-

as I have already been there and it does not answer my question. These are the issues:

A) Usually I post essays. However, sometimes I post poems. In poems, line spacing is critical. To separate stanzas, I want to double space. In all other instances, I want single spacing. Initially, I could control line spacing as evidenced by this poem on substack: https://davidgottfried.substack.com/p/odes-to-rock-n-roll. However, you changed your protocols and now I can’t control line spacing and the line spacing of my poems is an anarchic mess. Please tell me how to take care of line spacing.

B) I have been advised that there is a substack editor that one should use. Of course, when I try to post something, I see a zillion icons on the screen which can enable me to change or view articles in one way or another, but I have yet to see a key, let alone a word, marked editor. Please tell me: Where is the substack editor. Please try to explain with some physical precision. (Most peoples’ verbal abilities fail them when they are asked to explain, CONCRETELY, where something is and what it looks like. Sorry if I seem irritable)

Expand full comment

Sorry, as usual I am percolating with questions. Question 1:

1) Some people in this forum said it was imperative to have one’s newsletter indexed on google to get a decent measure of circulation. However, more recently, someone on this forum said that we were now all automatically indexed on google, contending, “Your site is being indexed in Google. To see which pages are starting their road to ranking, go to this url site:https://davidgottfried.substack.com It takes some time to start ranking for keywords, etc. I have an article if you check my substack.”

Please arbitrate between the two conflicting opinions. Should we get indexed on google or is indexing now an automatic process.

Expand full comment

We're only on the thread today right?

Expand full comment

This is great!

Expand full comment

Olá, preciso de uma ajuda. Quando compartilho o meu primeiro posto, a pessoa que recebe (inscrito ou não) recebe um link, e não um texto já formatado. O que estou fazendo de errado?

Expand full comment

I just started my food newsletter. If I post several recipes a week can they all be sent on the same weekly email to my readers instead of several ones? Thank you

Expand full comment

Hi all! Northern Ireland (NI) .. We're all somewhat political and I'd like to share my 'Political Musings'; How do I drop the breadcrumbs for people to follow & how do I locate NI breadcrumbs to begin to grow? Thanks to all in advance!

Expand full comment

What's the best way to publish a bilingual newsletter? Thanks

Expand full comment

My new Substack newsletter is now live (whiskingupastorm.substack.com) and I plan to make it grow to a paid one in the future, keeping some posts free at the same time. How should I differentiate free content from the paid one so that readers become interested in paying? Thank you

Expand full comment

How do leave a real live hyperlink in your post?

Expand full comment

Just looking to grow...trying everywhoch way. And, how to get readers to comment publicly. How to engage them...I'd love to talk to someone from sub stack and have a fluid conversation about the process...not just by writing questions online, here...

Expand full comment

I don't get the point of this. I write books. Why is a URL demanded? I want to publish a novel that gobalist publishers will never accept but which other writers say impresses them. Is substack not for novels?

Expand full comment

My new Substack newsletter is live - deniseelaineheap.substack.com (Why This Matters). I very carefully set up theme for magazine style. I uploaded logo, photo for the Welcome page. I unpinned a post so the magazine style would work. Previewed everything and it looks exactly as I want it to.

But not in real life. The actual Welcome page is the post I have unpinned, and the homepage does not seem to exist at all, as it did in the preview. And yes, I properly saved everything.

I do have screenshots of the previews and settings as well as of what I see when I go to my page.

Kind of annoying because I wanted to end the week with this done. I already have seven posts uploaded and ready to go over the next couple of weeks...

Expand full comment

I tried to publish an illustrated essay. Substack won’t publish the illustrations. Copyright problems?

Expand full comment

People here (India) do not open emails on a regular basis. For many here ,email is a secondary medium of communication after WhatsApp. Also majority use cellphones to read e content.

I have got the first batch of my subscribers by send the link through Whatsapp.

But again the issue is I have to message them the link to every issue.

This is one challenge of using Substack in India.

Expand full comment

I am trying to join "Newsletter to Social" but it won't add a URL for my publication. Is it because I haven't set it up yet? DUH! Give me a break. I'm 85 years old and am trying to work it all out.

Expand full comment

Good morning, people have told me they are having trouble finding me on substack. They typed my profile name and substack into google but were not directed to the page. Help.

Expand full comment

Wow! I had no idea this was one of the things Substack was about. Man 0 Man we learn shit! Don't we? I just signed up because I am a new lover of UnFucking the Republic. I listen to it when walking my dog, but when I get home I can't remember how to go on and make donations, etc. It took me months to remember the name, Substack. I am in the 4th rewrite of my first novel and have an assigned time. I am shaking in my boots at the prospect of once the novel is at the point of publication, how does one who knows no one in the business, do that?

Expand full comment

It a great honor to have this thread.

If I have any questions I will gladly post them here.

Expand full comment

For the first 3 months I had no trouble with posting my articles. But now it won't accept them. What's wrong? My website is: jonathanpowerjournalist.com

Expand full comment

Hi Substack, I would like to find a way to offer my book for free in order to get newsletter subscribers. Is there any way to do that.

Expand full comment

Hi Saiful from Malaysia

Nice to know you all fellow writers

Expand full comment

As a semi-illiterate internet user, I love Substack's ease of use. One thing I still don't understand: is there a way to direct mail other writers, especially those to whom I'm subscribing? I mean sending a private message, not leaving a comment.

Expand full comment

Love the platform, but I do not have an e-mail list to bring. Hope people find by search! Your thoughts appreciated to those without lists.

Expand full comment

I’ve written to you many times asking for help in setting up my blog but you never respond at all, so why keep pretending to want to help?

Expand full comment

Hey all,

A late sign off from our team today. There were a lot of questions this week and we will continue answering more questions in next week's thread. Save it to your calendar so you don't miss it: https://lu.ma/office-hours

Our services team will continue to keep their eyes on the special thread today so they can continue to develop services that serve you all. Drop any tools or support on your mind that would help you produce your best work here: https://on.substack.com/p/office-hours-services/comments

See you next week,

Katie + Bailey + Jasmine + Rose + Kelsa

Expand full comment

Hey gang! Tom White here of White Noise — a free, weekly newsletter on books and behavior, psychology and philosophy.

My question: are there any tools to help avoid our emails from getting sent to spam folders? It seems to be happening more and more frequently as of late :/.

Lastly, sharing my latest on the difficulty and beauty in accepting yourself, warts and all.

An excerpt:

“Acceptance is a funny, squirrelly beast. Regardless of your stature or station in life, it does not come easily to us human beings. It exists as formidable—though not insurmountable—obstacle.

Like most things, it is one thing to say “I accept this;” another entirely to actually do so; and another still to truly believe it.

And yet, I think that’s the purpose of it all: to know oneself, love oneself, live as oneself, believe oneself.”

https://www.whitenoise.email/p/acceptance

Expand full comment

Is there a way to charge less for subscriptions? Like $15 a year instead of $50?

Expand full comment

hi!! i just launched - it's a travel topic . . . but my page isn't showing up! help!!!!!!

Expand full comment

Salute to all yous and Happy New Year. Learning the craft of writing, is what we do. Bless and take care all.

Expand full comment

The content on substack is different than that on the site but draws on the podcast. Ideally one checks out the site info AND gets involved on substack. I do think that different platforms attract different crowds. I am hoping I enjoy what I perceive to be a smarter and more literate crowd on substack

Expand full comment

Hey community! Sorry I missed the main event this week, but I am always looking to connect to other writers for accountability, connection, and future collaboration. I write about nature and finding belonging. Looking forward to meeting more writers this year!

Expand full comment

Hi everyone! I have a substack about the scientific exploration of spirituality and spiritual phenomenon. Does anyone have any tips about the best places to promote it online?

Expand full comment
Jan 6, 2022Liked by Bailey @ Substack

Thanks, ya'll for another helpful WOH!

Expand full comment

In stats, I have 3 to 4 times more views that I have subscribers for any given post. Is that because readers have opened a post up numerous times, or is there another reason?

Expand full comment

When you add a new subscriber, and then subsequently send out a new post newsletter, can that new reader like/comment directly from the email or do they have to explicitly signup for your newsletter first? I feel that some of my readers are having an easier time with engaging than others for some reason.

Expand full comment

Question:

A newsletter should contain over 1000 words or can be less than that?

Expand full comment

Quick question: I love the "View profile" tab for subscribers. And I understand that some people didn't add anything to their profiles, so there's nothing to see. But I'm not clear on why some subscribers don't have a "View profile tab" at all. Also--I'd like to invite subscribers to add to their profiles, but I'm not sure how they can do that. Thanks!

Expand full comment