197 Comments

Thank you everyone for these great questions! And for answering each other's questions.

We are wrapping this week's thread but will be back next week with more.

In the meantime, we have lots of great resources for you here: https://substack.com/resources and in our own "Library" archive.

Happy writing,

Katie + Kristen

Expand full comment

Thank you for doing this.

A few things that would help everyone in the Substack ecosystem:

1) Any way to reach out to Gmail/Google and try to have them not put a ton of non-commercial substacks in the "promotions" tab, along with flyers, coupons, and corporations telling us about their sales? This is broken behaviour on Gmail's part, if I sign up for a newsletter on programming, *I want it in my inbox*, not buried somewhere I may never see it. Millions of people aren't getting what they sign up for because of this.

2) Crypto substacks need their own category. They're taking over tech, business, and finance, and most readers of these categories aren't necessarily into crypto and vice versa. It's a very separate thing.

3) Users that aren't logged in on the site on a specific browser/device, *but are free subscribers*, can't find the page where to sign up for paid options. They just get the "enter your email to subscribe" field on the page with nothing else, and are confused. It needs to be easier to see something like "log in here for more options if you are already a subscriber" on that page.

Thank you for your time and keep up the good work!

Expand full comment

Forgive me for missing the shoutout thread last week. I suck. I shall endeavor to suck less.

I am almost certainly asking a question asked by others, but it's worth doing this again: do you have internal metrics that can show when the best time of day and days of the week are for sending the next edition of a newsletter? I'm looking for numbers that can show the best time for acquiring subscribers, for acquiring paying subscribers and for open rates.

Expand full comment

As someone interested in the "donation model", I'd be intrigued by adding this as an option to my newsletter so people who want to support but maybe don't or do want free/premium newsletters can opt in/out.

I write investrly - a weekly investing newsletter helping you invest early in your financial future. We've grown to almost 1000 subscribers which is exciting but many free readers may want to donate without having to subscribe. Would love to chat more about this concept/idea.

I'd also be open to collaborating with any other newsletters that focus on investing early in yourself.

Expand full comment

It seems to me many of the writers on Substack have brought with them an audience from other social media. I have had no social media presence. I am attempting to build an audience from scratch. I have absolutely no idea how to garner readers. I haven't published since college, 15 years ago. How do readers find me out of the millions of people on the web?

Expand full comment

Hey, all! A great feature of tinyletter was the ability to send individual post emails to folks who subscribed after a post had gone out to existing subscribers. Is there any plan to include a similar feature in substack?

Expand full comment

I'm using the discussion thread monthly to connect with an "exercise/prompt" in my newsletter. (I'm working with writers.) Is there a way that those who participate in the discussion thread can be notified when someone posts a response? It would be a good way to build the discussion/conversation. BTW, my first 10 days "paid" has been really good! (By my standards, anyway :) Thank you!!

Expand full comment

so with new sections on Substack... 1 have 3 now.

How to let people subscribe only to a particular section?

I assume by default it subscribes to the main database?

i.e. this is how it looks currently for me: http://communities.show

Expand full comment

Hiya,

1. Would you enable us to make Archive newsletters ONLY for paid subscribers, while allowing our latest newsletter to be viewed by everyone.

This way, we give incentive to subscribe for access to the Archive.

2. Remove the "FREE" option from the Subscribe button.

This discourages visitors from paying!

We all know we can give out free subscriptions if we desire.

Aren't we all in this to ultimately make a living?

Lemme know - Thanks

Expand full comment

Back again. :) 2 questions …

1. I would love some more clarity and help on the UX of Sections.

2. I’ve heard from very loyal readers who say my substack emails suddenly wind up in spam. Is there a clear set of best practices? (I hesitate to purge readers, as I know the dashboard isn’t accurate; I have paid members who supposedly have never opened an email in 18 months.)

Expand full comment

What is the most efficient way of dividing one post into a free for everyone half and a for subscribers only half? Or even if it's not equal halves, let's say I want to include a PDF for subscribers only, but I don't want to send out two different versions of the same newsletter. Thanks for your feedback!

Expand full comment

Hi Team,

I write a newsletter named '10+1 Things', consisting 11 curated things which I thought were worth sharing.

Can you add the feature of sending manual emails to one subscriber or selected subscribers? I had few signups immediately after I published my newsletter.

Link: rishikesh.substack.com

Expand full comment

Hi all. I'm curious about ways to reach more readers with my Substack, https://evanjames.substack.com/, which has two sides to it: 1) a free personal essay column with original art as well as an audio/podcast version with original music and narration; and 2) a paid-tier, rolling writing advice column with exercises, readings, etc. I'm an author who has published a novel and a personal essay collection, and I promote on Instagram, but I find my reach has plateaued and is mostly limited to friends/colleagues/friends-of-friends/IG acquaintances. I think of the personal essay part of the Substack as "writing a book in public," and hope to eventually compile those essays into my next collection. How do I reach a wider readership as I carry out this experiment?

Another writer who is using Substack as a kind of "writer's sketchbook" or running essay column is Kyle McCarthy--a friend--and I've enjoyed reading her posts. https://kylemccarthy.substack.com/

Are there smart ways to create more engagement or readers with these long-form, literary kinds of Substacks? Thanks for any thoughts you might have.

Expand full comment

Could you give us the option to make it so that posts within a specific Section can be hidden from the main publication page view?

Expand full comment

Hi, all. I write https://howtotalk.substack.com/, a creative nonfiction series on time, love, work, and life framed (loosely) as a set of instructions or guides.

Does Substack allow cross-newsletter publications? Meaning, can different Substack posts be collected into publications or issues?

Expand full comment

Hi, I'm the newsletter editor for TueNight, a platform for GenX women. https://tuenight.substack.com/ We're thinking about doing classified ads and/or adding a premium level to our currently free newsletter. I'd love to hear from other people about how they did this successfully. Extra bonus points if you can point me to other people doing this well. Thanks!

Expand full comment

I'm experimenting with the newsletter format for worldbuilding by writing "from" future Mars at https://marsspectrum.substack.com - would love to see a category for fiction or sci-fi to help improve discoverability for those of us writing something other than non-fiction. Thanks for all you do and for hosting this thread!

Expand full comment

I co-founded a school and started a blog to amplify the work of others, and promote usable ideas that inspire our thinking and work at schoolofthought.substack.com. I would love to know how to connect with others who are doing similar work on Substack- are there interest groups? I also would love to know more about how to ignite readership to target such connections and learn from and with them. thank you.

Expand full comment

Hi y'all! I write about popular culture and poetry at https://poppoetry.substack.com/

PopPoetry contains weekly posts for anyone interested in writing and the creative life. My mission is to bring poetry out of the ivory tower and into your living rooms and your hearts. I study the intersection of poetry and poets with pop culture, including TV, film, music, and more.

Here's a question I have: It would be great if we could save post templates somewhere for different kinds of posts. Any plans for a feature like this?

Expand full comment

On my sub stack we discuss goat farming and a rejection of modernity.

Come join us: https://rejectmodernity.substack.com/

Expand full comment

Hi, wonderful insights and profiles! I just started writing a newsletter on French chic words, while I struggle learning French :) My newsletter in called Entre Nous and you can find my first one here. https://oanalungu.substack.com/p/are-you-a-flaneur?

Any feedback is much appreciated. Thanks again for sharing such valuable information!

Expand full comment

Hi! Thanks so much for hosting these office hours.

My question has to do with stats - mine often aren't accurate, and I'm curious if this is due to people potentially using adblockers, etc. I open my substack every week, and it never shows as me opening it. I've also had conversations with people who reference specific things I've mentioned in my newsletter, but when I check, it looks like they haven't opened it.

Is there something on my end I can change, or is this just potentially a bug dealing with the stats?

Thanks so much!

And if anyone is interested in reading my memoir-style travel newsletter, you can find it here: https://sashalevage.substack.com/ (I traveled full time in an RV for 2+ years and have lots of stories to tell & am trying to improve my marketing.)

Expand full comment

I'm wondering why I can't get back to Substack's main page from my own page? I wish there was a link on top that would take readers to a page where they can see other writers' pages, like they do on Medium and other sites. I would love to be able to wander through and find other writers I might want to follow but if there's an easy way I haven't found it yet. Thanks.

Expand full comment

Substack initiative is appreciated. Let us hope for the best.

Expand full comment

Hello! I started my Substack in late April and have endeavored to post twice weekly, a schedule I've been able to keep thus far. However, I'm not sure how to promote it outside of my friends. My newsletter doesn't have a distinct focus but instead houses whatever I want to write about at the time, whether that be games, technology, music, or something else entirely. Because these topics aren't necessarily aligned, I'm not sure where and how to promote the newsletter as a whole, besides posting individual posts in places where I think they would be of interest.

So, what are some general tips for promoting a more variety-style newsletter?

Thanks!

Expand full comment

I’m writing a bi-weekly newsletter where I recommend books, movies, and music. I’ll occasionally write about politics as well. You can check it out here: https://varunyadav.substack.com/

Expand full comment

Hey guys,

I'm Punit, and I write one fun, thought-provoking poem every week on Hello Universe. <https://hellouniverse.substack.com/>

I really want to know some tips to balance work and writing. I used to be great at it, in fact, I wrote 100 poems in 100 days from Oct 2020 to Jan 2021!

But lately, I've just found myself slipping, and just unable to find time to write in a deep and thoughtful manner, because I don't prioritise well.

I would LOVE to get some fresh ideas and tips from fellow Substack writers who are balancing work and writing, on how they manage it.

Thanks!

Expand full comment

Can be there any symbiotic relationship between Substack and personal blogs? How can they complement each other? Finally, what role can Substack play when syndicating content across different platforms (e.g. Medium, Dev.to, LinkedIn, HackerNoon, etc) ?

Expand full comment

Hi all, I have a question related on how to growth my newsletter. I write in a niche language for a niche topic, and I don't know how to expand it. The feedback are wonderful, but they are probably biased. I don't search for monetization, but a broader base will help spread ideas.

Expand full comment

I've done pretty well to spread my Substack within my network and have pretty good engagement in terms of people opening and reading each week, but I had two questions regarding growing my audience:

1. How should I go about increasing engagement on the post itself? Plenty of people reach out to me on other platforms about how they enjoyed this week's edition, but given that I have some tangential connection like LinkedIn people prefer to talk to me there rather than like/comment on the post. Is this just a consequence of most of my current readers being within my network?

2. Leading from the previous question, I've tapped out most of my own network capacity to spread my Substack, having posted in groups I'm a part of, LinkedIn, etc... and having friends spread it. How do I start jumping into an audience that I'm not connected to indirectly?

Thanks in advance! My Substack is Scaled and Failed, where I write about startups that succeeded and crashed in a certain industry each week: https://scaledandfailed.substack.com/

Expand full comment

Hi,

Thank you Substack and team for creating this wonderful platform for writers.

I have a question about frontend theme.

Is there any way you guys can provide a way for writers to connect their own static website (for extra themes and features) as frontend with their Substack publication (or URL) and Substack handles all the backend services? Like some writers may want to add other features (maybe themes or different font styles) so they can build their own static website and use it as frontend for Substack publication.

Expand full comment

I saw that Substack's getting into online comics publishing. Is there a standard agreement available, for creators? I'm interested in the terms.

Expand full comment

setting up a new account, trying to look like taibbi (simple, clean) but mine not even close (losingourreligion) - is that a template I have to pick?

Expand full comment

Adding to the below: The graphics and text live somewhere. When I go to post, the opening paragraph and graphics I added on the plane remain intact. F. M.!!

Expand full comment

I just experienced a MAJOR platform FAIL. On airplane wifi, I spent 3 hours composing a post when my laptop battery was about to out. I switched to iPad, and there's NOTHING saved. NOTHING.

I went back to the laptop, all content intact! Save it...oops, can't do that. There's a "newer" version from the iPad, and it's blank. OK, save as new version. Oops. FAIL. Error 400, can't save, can't go back. 3 hours gone. This is pretty fundamental programming, folks. If I can't count on you to save my work (and, no, it's not in drafts, either), then it's a. Waste. Of. Time. MY TIME.

Expand full comment

My question is: How to create more beautiful writing pieces?

Expand full comment

Hi Friends,

I want to give a gift to my target audience so I can get to build an email list from scratch. How do I go about this? I urgently need your help on this. plsssss Anybody? 😔

Expand full comment

Are there many high-earning UK writers on Substack?

Expand full comment

my substack is an art publication. The last time I published a dozen images. None of my subscribers received it. Is it true that gmail reads image heavy content as spam? Also why is my stuff going into email promotions rather than directly to my subscribers inbox?

Expand full comment

Thanks for sharing the Kosmic Kitchen example! Aside from linking to her Substack on her Instagram bio (via Linktree), is there anything specific that we can learn from how she uses Instagram to promote newsletter growth?

Asking as I'm keen to convert more of my IG followers to newsletter subscribers. I've been experimenting with sharing Substack on my IG by using carousel posts like this: https://www.instagram.com/p/CP7idPMDMAJ/ but I'd be grateful for more creative suggestions.

Expand full comment

I have an existing weekly column/blog that I'd like to add to Substack. How can I migrate it to the platform without having to add each installment individually?

Expand full comment

I changed my newsletter's format. Previously, I used to post one essay every week. But I now, to make it more resourceful, I have created two new sections. One containing a curated list of links to some articles and videos. And the second, featuring an underrated content creator.

I was expecting an increase in open rate, but there isn't much change. What do you guys think, should I go back to the previous format?

Expand full comment

I do not want to move my podcast away from my current platform so do I just post a link in my copy or is there a way to link the podcast without switching platforms.

Expand full comment

Hi! Is it expedient to immediately include a paywall to a new publication, or is it wiser to take time and grow your subscribers to a certain level?

Expand full comment

Hello! Is it possible to add a video to a post without putting it on YouTube first?

Expand full comment

Sounds great. Thanks so much

Expand full comment

I can't seem to link my bank - Chase - to substack. Please help!

Marc Batko

Portland OR

marc1seed@yahoo.com

www.freembtranslations.net

https://www.indybay.org/newsitems/2021/06/10/18843132.php

Expand full comment

If I'm already logged in, provide a means for me as a user to bookmark a specific page I'm on, (and add the sponsor/author). Let me annotate and organize any page I happen to be on. There's no current easy way to keep track of, and get back to something you'd like to on SubStack. For instance right now, I'd bookmark this page, add a copy of this comment to that record. It would automatically be stored under W.O.H. and other categories, showing date first visited, and latest. That way, I wouldn't need any breadcrumbs to get back to specific content on SS, nor use my browser's overused bookmarking system.

Expand full comment

I'm seeing considerable increased activity in terms of hits on my Substack posts, but not in terms of free subscriptions. Is there an obvious reason for that?

Expand full comment

Visit us for information about covid-19 at https://covid19.unair.ac.id/

Expand full comment