1406 Comments

Curious to hear: What's surprising you from taking a look at your new audience insights stats tab?

Expand full comment

We're excited to see all the places your subscribers are around the world on the new audience insights map! Thanks for joining us at Office Hours today. The Substack team is signing off but we will be back next week at the same time and place.

See you then,

Katie, Bailey, Jasmine, Hannah, Thomas, and Quinn

Expand full comment

Hello all, and happy Office Hours! Here's a little bit of encouragement from one small newsletter to all of you:

Someone here once asked the insightful question about whether we should spend time finding our "niche" as a writer, and I wanted to share something I learned early on in this Substack journey. I read a great article that stated this truth: when you post a newsletter, YOU are the niche! After a while, it's doesn't matter so much WHAT you write, as long as you're writing something you feel passionate about. Your true audience, the ones you want to attract, will stick with you no matter what your topic is, because they like your style, your viewpoint, and your unique voice. Niche down if you like, there's nothing wrong with narrowing your focus, but make no mistake: the most important part is that you keep showing up consistently, writing the thing you feel you should write in the moment. Don't chase audience, build community! Your real community will follow you; they won't want to miss a thing! Keep going, keep writing, and DON'T GIVE UP! 🌿

Expand full comment

Loving this audience insights feature. I learned 50% of my audience is reading me from my mum’s kitchen

I’m so in control right now 💪

Expand full comment

Hi everyone! I haven’t been able to participate much in office hours this year, so wanted to wish everyone here a productive 2023! May all of your writing goals come to fruition.

Expand full comment

Hi everyone, coming to you from bright and sunny Austin today! I wanted to share a small story that encouraged me a lot. I took myself on an "artist date" which meant I gave myself permission to just wander for a few hours without an agenda (on foot!).

In my meanderings, I came across a young-ish man (30's) dressed in an old-fashioned suit, sitting at a small table with a typewriter. He called out to me to pick a poem for him to write. It could be about anything and I could pay what I like. I almost walked by but something told me to stop. I gave him a subject (crows) and he started typing away. A few minutes later he gave me a small poem that really filled my heart with delight!

After speaking with him for a few more minutes, I learned that this was his full-time job. Writing small poems for passerby. "It pays my rent and fills my car with gas," he insisted. Making a living this way is not something I would've imagined possible. But HE imagined it. And so it became possible.

What are you imagining is possible for you? Believe it and it will become. I'd love to hear your dreams/stories/goals below!

Expand full comment

The audience overlap feature is GREAT! Excited about that one.

Expand full comment

Thank you to everyone who reached out after I posted about my Guest Writer Program last week.

(I'm republishing poignant work -- mostly first person stories -- in order to give them a bigger audience in my daily newsletter on Substack ... Understandably.com ... started with zero subscribers in 2019, now up to 170,000+!).

I've accepted 10 out of 52 pieces, paying $75 each. I won't take up space by repeating the whole announcement, but if you're interested to learn more or submit something, go here. Thanks!

https://www.understandably.com/p/writers-wanted-share-your-work-on

(I think I've replied to everyone who submitted. If I missed you, feel free to let me know at bill@understandably.com and I will be suitably embarrassed!)

Expand full comment

Here in Sofia (Bulgaria) there is a historical bath house, located on top of a natural hot water spring. In the past, when people didn't have running water at their homes they would go there for a bath. The building has four gates. The main one was for the rich. The two rear gates were for the poor. The back gate was dedicated for his majesty the Bulgarian Tsar. Despite they come from different walks of life, they would meet at the same pool. Substack office hours reminds me of this bath house. Writers with hundreds of paying subscribers would mingle in the discussion with complete beginners, together with the team. Even once I have spotted the CEO in the thread. Keep up the good job 👍

Expand full comment

Hi writers,

What is the moment that completely shifted your readership growth?

Usually more common in social media like Youtube and Instagram, but I'd like to know if you have a moment that a post or your publication goes viral ?

Expand full comment

Happy Office Hours! I am in the first month of my Substack journey, and just wanted to say thank you to each and every writer and creator who shows up in these comments and offers advice and wisdom.

I wrote in my newsletter today--about traveling, but something similar applies here I think--about the "journey being the destination." I am reminded, each and every day that I sit down with my notebook or keyboard, that the end goal--publication, a certain number of readers--is not the point. Writing, the love of it, the joy of getting swept away in the creation and that humbling moment when someone shares their love of the stories or essays that you have poured your heart into; that's the point. Fortunately, we are all able to get a bit of that, the love of it, every day. It doesn't hinge on the approval of another, someone pressing the subscribe button, or so on.

May you all write something you are proud of today, something that you love with your whole heart. 💛

Expand full comment

I’m psyched to see audience insights - have been wondering about this. Thanks! Any chance we can search for substacks by writer location? Would be a neat way to find / form writer communities IRL :)

Expand full comment

TO SUBSTACK, re "NO THANKS": I'm noticing an uptick in free signups who then unsubscribe a few days later. No big whoop that I'm not their thing, but reverting the welcome page language back to "Let me read it first" is a better UX experience vs the deceptive design of "no thanks." I don't like having that manipulative interaction as an introduction to my hospitable vibe.

Expand full comment

How are you all finding talking about your Substack to others? Do you have a pre-prepared spiel, an elevator pitch etc? Would love to hear it if you do so I can refine mine 💘💘

Expand full comment

The last week has been tough.

I was struggling to find my way out. To get back to writing. To get back to follow my dream.

Which is to turn my articles into a profession.

Then I’ve remembered. That I’ve been there already.

And the solution was: “In doubt, just do”. Go back in motion.

Keep writing. Connect with fellow authors. Connect with Tobias, connect with Ed.

So, share this post since “I must keep reminding myself of this”.

That I’m not alone in this. That I can count on other writers and readers. As I continue to walk on my path.

Enjoy office hours today, people. Prosper and connect. 💫

And, when persisting is required, read about my experience. Might help you too to remember the way out.

🙇‍♂️ https://livmkk.substack.com/p/i-must-keep-reminding-myself-of-this

Expand full comment

Delenda est Carthago! Please translate the UI to other languages (portuguese in my case) Every day losing probable paid subscribers and probable fellow writers because of that. This kind of translation is o simple.... I would be glad to help!

Expand full comment

Really like the audience stats (shoutout to my reader in Zambia!). What data are you pulling to get these locations? Asking because it only shows "1" in the state I live in, when I know there are at least 5 (mostly 'cause I live with them).

Expand full comment

My Substack has been flirting with 1000 subscribers for a week now. It was climbing steadily, then it hit 997 and has been stubbornly holding between 994 and 997 for seven days now. I think it is trying to keep me humble. 🤣

But it has taken 2 1/2 years to get here. Surely that is enough dues. Isn’t it, Substack? 😉🤓

Expand full comment

Audience Insights is so cool! Thanks to the developers who worked on this.

Only 58% of my audience is based in the US, which is a huge surprise to me. Showing overlap with other publications was a suggestion of mine from weeks ago and I'm very excited to see it in action.

Expand full comment

Just one thing to say: thanks for adding the Audience Insights tab :)

Expand full comment

Audience insights are HUGE! Thank you!

Expand full comment

Thanks for the changes to private Substacks. I’m planning on working on a book that I want to control who sees and gives feedback to. But it was difficult to figure out who I would add. Now I have a better option.

Expand full comment

What alternative sources (to your own social media and Substack features) are you using to get exposed to new subscribers?

One of my main sources (1 in 4 of all my subscribers came from there) is The Sample, a free services that time-to-time shares your post with people interested in newsletters of a similar category. If you want to give it a go, you can register via this link - https://thesample.ai/?ref=850d (full disclosure - this is a referral link, and I'll get additional forwards for every sign-up).

During last Office Hours some people mentioned using old-school business cards (with or without QR codes), ads in niche print outlets, niche subreddits (or even starting your own subreddit), running Instagram ads.

What are other ways of getting the message out there that works for you?

Expand full comment

Hello all, and a (belated) Happy New Year from Maine:

This is my first foray into Office Hours, though I've been writing Field Guide to the Anthropocene on Substack for quite a while now (it will be two years in April). I tend to just keep my head down and write.

I'm here today to ask about podcasts, specifically whether I can produce read-alouds of my 90+ Substack essays and plug them directly into the archive as options for my audience. I'd rather not create a flood of new posts announcing each new read-aloud of old work. The goal is to retroactively reshape the archive so that visitors and subscribers have the podcast option.

Hope that makes sense, and that someone has a good answer for me. Thank you.

Expand full comment

I'm wondering if there any plans in the works by Substack for new networking opportunities. Such things like the Writing Hours, Substack Go and in-person networking has been so invaluable to me in my journey on Substack.

Expand full comment

This week I'm reflecting on my first six months on Substack 🥳 Part of my review was to see what essays, formats, themes performed best. Below are my 3 greatest hits (inspired by Gilmore Girls, 90's movies, and Everything Everywhere All At Once)

What was your best performing or most-loved release last year? (your favorite or your readers')

#1: https://outsourcedoptimism.substack.com/p/painting-a-self-portrait-in-motion

#2: https://outsourcedoptimism.substack.com/p/season-endings-and-series-finales

#3: https://outsourcedoptimism.substack.com/p/looking-at-life-through-a-bagel-an

Expand full comment

As a newcomer to the Substack community, I'm feeling a groundswell of good vibes from other writers. For a 60-something scribe like me, who finds this newsletter business a bit scary, this is really refreshing! Wishing everyone a successful 2023.

Expand full comment

I have a publisher doing a case study on me and my substack, so thanks Substack. I didn't expect that, you rock!

Expand full comment

This is all new to me and I'm a bit older, meaning technology can cause me some frustration. Please explain if this will be a video, or audio and if I can just listen and not have my camera active. Thank you.

Expand full comment

I've always found it interesting to know where my readers are coming from, geographically speaking, but the Audience Insights adds another dimension: showing you the overlap with other newsletters. That's a pretty useful tranche of information.

Expand full comment

Show up everyday and do the thing. When you chase your audience you aren’t crafting your own message. Be patient, focus on what you can change. I find consistently showing up and sticking to my theme is very important + helpful.

Expand full comment

I'm obviously just here to troll for subscribers. 😜

But for real, who here has tried a variety of approaches (articles, images, video, podcast) or topics to see what hits with an audience and discovered something about what works and what doesn't? I'm a writer, so I always focus on that approach. But I've been doing a podcast that seems to hit with my audience. Eventually, I'm worried about spreading myself too thin and not giving quality effort to my writing.

Curious for feedback!

Also really just looking for new subs. 😜

Expand full comment

I love Audience insights!

Expand full comment

I didn't know audience insights existed. I never click the Stats tab. But now you got me curious and I see that Dynamic Creed is read across 19 US states and 15 countries. Thank you 15 countries...

Expand full comment

The audience insights are fascinating. Thank you! I would still love to be able to more easily see comparisons by month and over time, but this is a great start.

I'm curious how people who are already using Substack will utilize private newsletters. I'm finding myself using Facebook less and less but I would still like an easier way to keep in touch with friends and family. Has anyone considered starting a separate newsletter just for that purpose?

Finally, I have finally completed my book of essays/memoir and it is now available for pre-order through Amazon! I'm so excited and after this experience (I have some minor revisions to do before official launch on February 14), I'm ready to start the next project. I'm actually thinking about using the next project to encourage more people to sign up for paid subscriptions by making one unpolished chapter of the next book available each month for paid subscribers, as well as finally writing some spicier takes for just paid subscribers. Thoughts? Oh, and here's the link about my "final" steps 😊 https://sarahstyf.substack.com/p/finishing-my-first-book

Expand full comment

Is Office Hours at a difficult time for you? It's just after 6am here in New Zealand. For those who struggle with the time, I hosting Zoom meetups at a time friendly to people in New Zealand, Australia and the Pacific region (it works for eastern Asia and American west coast as well).

Here's a link to the page which gives the day and time for the next meetup, in a couple of days.

https://lu.ma/p5fri9sr

Expand full comment

I’m not into quote devotion, but I do relate to a few. Like this one that I keep next to my typewriter:

The outer work can never be small if the inner work is great. And the outer work can never be great if the inner work is small. Meister Eckhart

Okay, I don't have a typewriter any longer, but I've had this quote around for a long time. And I keep it in mind, especially when I get sad about metrics, which I'm not immune to. This whole thing seems slow, but I must keep on my path, popular or not.

Expand full comment

Thank you Bailey and tech staff for your help in getting all stacks back on the free Leaderboards!

Expand full comment

Audience insights is amazing!

Expand full comment

Hello! Any suggestions on how to push for more paid subscribers? Mine are growing, slowly, but I would like them to come on board more quickly. Just activated the chat, use video as well. Thanks for any suggestions!

Expand full comment

Love the new stats feature. Also love seeing new features added periodically. It's like Christmas

Expand full comment

Hi,

I've really liked your new latex feature! Understandably its still in beta and you asked for feedback, so heres been my experience:

1) In-line latex would be super useful. microsoft onenote for example implements this super well, "alt+=" allows you to insert latex anywhere in a document. Substack currently only allows "latex blocks".

2) Typing on a new line or using \newline doesn't work, it just formats everything into one line, so you have to make a new latex block which is inconvenient.

3) If typing out a normal sentence, it doesn't format spaces so all the words get clumped together

4) Latex blocks look bad on the mobile app, especially using dark mode. It makes huge white images for one line that take up half the page.

If you could pass this on to your dev team it would be really appreciated :)

Expand full comment

I was thrilled to learn about Audience Insights. It says the newsletter is "read across 38 US states and 31 countries." Who would have thought.

Expand full comment

Thank you Substack for these writer office hours. The interaction with other writers is so helpful, in addition to the opportunity to give feedback and ask questions of Substack staff.

Expand full comment

Hey writers -

How much time do you set aside to write?

Do you time block some time out? Or just go at it from when you feel an itch to type?

Finding it tricky with having an idea, but not the time instantly to get it written down

Expand full comment

Between a newborn and starting a new job, writing has become really tough. I also struggle to find topics to write about. Any tips on generating newsletter ideas?

Expand full comment

Hey substackers,

I'm coming up on my eight month on this platform with slow growth, but I recognise that that's okay! I've not let it get me down (even though somedays I definitely wonder why I bother! - anybody else feel like that?) This Sunday, I'm sharing my latest piece on the discomfort of self-promotion and how I've tried to overcome it. Step 1 being that I have to do things with more intention and just be brave!

I thought it would be nice to share three of my top best performing (that also happen to be pieces that resonated with me and readers the most):

#1: https://ontheverge.substack.com/p/lets-talk-about-ldfs-long-distance

#2: https://ontheverge.substack.com/p/me-myself-and-my-average-life

#3: https://ontheverge.substack.com/p/even-if-only-for-a-while

What are your best written pieces? Let's share!

Expand full comment

What’s the prognosis for building a readership without a preexisting social media presence? Is regular quality output + consistent engagement with other Substack users and content + the Substack algorithm enough? Or is it advisable to take out advertising or something like that?

Expand full comment

Thank you for the encouragement! I needed that today.

Expand full comment

Love the audience insights

Expand full comment