55 Comments

Where are the Substack podcasters at? What's the sharpest piece of advice you can give other podcasters about getting started and monetizing their show?

Expand full comment

To help organize the conversation, please use one of the following emojis when you start a new comment.

🧠 - when sharing strategy or advice for fellow writers

✏️ - when asking questions or seeking feedback from fellow writers

🟧 - when asking a question you hope the Substack team can help answer

Use your emoji keyboard or simply copy and paste the emoji at the beginning of your comment.

Expand full comment

🧠 I added podcasting to my Substack content strategy on July 6 after delaying for a long time with mountain of excuses. Some of which are my own comfort of sharing via Audio and listening back to myself. As well as excuses of not having assets like images and headers.

My advice is to just start. Since July 6 I have published 40 episodes for my daily podcast. I get a real kick out of the fact I can podcast on Substack and the episodes are distributed out to Apple Podcast, Spotify, and Amazon Music. My little revision of the old saying, "Perfection is the enemy of progress!"

PS you can check out my podcast here: https://nyugrad.substack.com/podcast

Expand full comment

🟧 Something I was curious about from the interview with Laura is how she uses the podcast as a paid perk. I like the idea, but the implementation currently requires duplicate posts: one for the original text, then a duplicate for the podcast version (only for paid subscribers). Is there a neater way to get the same result?

The paywall feature in theory can be used for this, but I suspect (anecdotally) that a lot of readers are already trained to ignore 'preview' posts, assuming the main content is paywalled (even if it's only a specific section/bonus bit).

Expand full comment

🧠 Just want to share my interview for Substack's The Active Voice with E. Jean Carroll, Mary Trump and Jen Taub, who are bringing serialization into the mainstream. The Active voice is such a great podcast! https://read.substack.com/p/the-active-voice-backstory-serial#details

Expand full comment

🟧 Are there plans to let us enter our own transcripts? The machine generated ones don't, for example, do a good job distinguishing speakers in an interview.

Also, I've brought this up before, but it would be a huge help if podcast episode pages would more clearly display links to the show in the various podcast apps, and also if the /podcast home page on one's site displayed those links as well. Right now if feels like Substack is intentionally obfuscating links to outside podcast platforms like Apple Podcasts, YouTube Music, Spotify, etc., to get people to subscribe to our shows on Substack itself. But that's just not how most people listen.

Expand full comment

✏️ - If I don't have any professional equipment or software or anything fun like that to hand, just your straightforward computer and Chrome browser and/or app, is it even a good idea to do a podcast as a feature, or would I need to get something in the way of a mic setup to make a go of it?

Expand full comment

✏️ Are folks covering additional content in their podcasts, or just reading posts aloud? I would assume some of both. As a much more natural writer than speaker, I would gravitate to the latter, but I'm curious what the appeal of having my posts in audio format would actually be.

Expand full comment

Hi! Did you know there’s a UI issue for recording natively? The drop-down box covers part of the text so it’s not possible to read and record at the same time. Would be great if this was resolved!

Expand full comment

The Youtube model of podcasting works really well, with both long-form and short-form. If possible, creating some sort of clips or snippets of podcasts to share in Notes would help with growth. One of the most popular forms of podcasting is uploading clips to Youtube as well as other social media platforms. Maybe in the future Substack could implement this?

Expand full comment

✏️ - Is there a print friendly format function in substack? I have older readers who print the newsletter and the pictures and text is unorganized.

Expand full comment

🟧 I have been scheduling my podcasts to publish at 5:05 AM NY time each morning. The strategy being to cast the widest net possible for my financial audience. Hoping I pick up London audience in their afternoon and the early birds in East coast. I then restack the podcast on Substack Notes and other social media around 11am NY time to remind West Coasters. But my question is will Substack be releasing more podcast analytics so we can make more data informed decisions on what time of day is best to publish a podcast episode, what times of days audience is engaging the most and least etc? Something like Spotify, https://podcasters.spotify.com/resources/learn/grow/spotify-podcast-analytics

Expand full comment

Where and how does a writer post on her

Substack blog?

Expand full comment

I plan on doing this soon.

Expand full comment

🟧 ✏️ hi! I create a voiceover for every newsletter and I'd like to have the voiceover go directly to my podcast feed. I have tried selecting the "Add voiceover to podcast RSS feed" when publishing the post, but it doesn't show up in the podcast thread (on substack or elsewhere). I am not sure what am I doing wrong... help appreciated! Also interested to hear from folks who have had success engaging with readers and listeners around the same essays (rather than posting separate podcasts vs. newsletters)

Expand full comment

🆘do I to swith to the paying option in order to have the app register directly my podcast?

Expand full comment

Always excited to start a new thing. I am currently figuring out the possibility of starting a podcast with several different people. I have done podcasts before, though am still on the lookout for people that I 'click' with and could have in-depth discussions with about a variety of different topics. My ideal podcast would be a person that I know/trust and having a weekly / biweekly discussion on a topic / topics of our choosing, or something that's in the news, etc. One day I will find that perfect podcast person. 😄

✏️ I have also used both professional (studio/condensor mic) and more basic recording hardware (decent usb mics, headsets) and boy do I notice the difference now. Obviously I would like to have a proper microphone, but I'm not sure yet if it is really necessary for now, especially considering a lot of talking is going to be done online and other people/guests usually do not have professional mics anyway. Is the investment on my end really necessary, or could I also get by with more basic hardware for a regular podcast, I wonder?

Expand full comment

🟧✏️ Question: I filed a Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) with the CDC for missing VAERS reports. I was expecting to get processing fees waived acting as a journalist aka a Substacker. My waiver was DECLINED! Can Substack content creators be considered journalists? see: https://imgur.com/gallery/ZHqfO6x

Expand full comment

🟧 - Does Substack have a print friendly format function? I have older readers who print the newsletter and the pictures and text is unorganized.

Expand full comment