101 Comments

You can check out Anna’s Substack here: https://annacodrearado.substack.com/

Expand full comment

❓What’s one word you would use to describe how you are feeling about the year ahead❓

Expand full comment

❓What's your advice to fellow writers heading into 2022❓

Expand full comment

❓What stood out from Anna Codrea-Rado’s advice column❓

Expand full comment

❓How would you describe 2021 in one word❓

Expand full comment

Thank you substack for this loving community - so heart warming to see everyone today and I feel like I belong.. I am right where I need to be.

I can't believe I am self publishing my first ebook tomorrow Dec 21 2021, and this is happening because I made a promise to help folks and be a voice for the unspoken and break the stigma on mental health..

A broken teacup: Filling the cracks with mindfulness, essentialism and self care.

bit.ly/brokenteacup

Expand full comment

Just want to second the folks saying that we need to have quarterly parties that are five hours long. 😉

Expand full comment

2021 was brutal. I say that because it was super busy and I spent most of the year feeling as if I was driving a car I was trying to upgrade and repair while it was driving 100 miles an hour.

I tend to judge success with the newsletter based on the people who are reading it and sharing it. Mine has added a lot of media industry executives and reporters. Which tells me that there must be some worth there, given they're signing up for something that is going out five days a week. Also, I pay attention to the open rate as a metric to tell how valuable it is to readers.

Expand full comment

Buggered 2021

Expand full comment

Revolution 2022

Expand full comment

1. 2021 = "Unpredictable"

2. We should definitely celebrate what we have made/written, even if it doesn't feel like "success"

3. Advice: Schedule a once-per-week "what I've achieved smugness session"

4. 2022 = "Scared" (and excited)

Expand full comment

Hello Substack world!

1. Fudged-up! (there’s a better word for this but want to keep it PG)

2. Never read her column but the editors pitch article is right up my alley.

3. Why not write while you “lock down” again, and again, and again.

4. Snarky

Expand full comment

I am Oludare Victoria from room 10. I am here.

Expand full comment

One word for this year? Transition. ‘Nuff said, I think...

Expand full comment

Connecting with these writers was lovely and a boost to end the year with. thanks everyone for the positive energy and community.

Expand full comment

#4: optimistic!

Expand full comment

Turbulent.

Expand full comment

about the current year: scary and somehow happy.

Expand full comment