1241 Comments

To help organize the conversation, please use one of the following emojis when you start a new comment.

🧠 - when sharing strategy or advice for fellow writers

✏️ - when asking questions or seeking feedback from fellow writers

🟧 - when asking a question you hope the Substack team can help answer

Use your emoji keyboard or simply copy and paste the emoji at the beginning of your comment.

Expand full comment

Any other Substack writers who live near State College, PA? I'm hosting a meet-up on December 13 and would love to see you there or co-host! See details here: https://lu.ma/lqn3f7es

Expand full comment

🧠 I’ve been on Substack for a bit over a year and I love it!

I’m always lurking here during Office Hours but rarely end up posting.

Today, I just wanted to give a word of encouragement to any new Substackers out there.

Substack is a huge, vibrant, and diverse community.

You’ll run into highly successful writers on this platform and your first impulse might be to start comparing the metrics.

I know mine was!

When I had no subscribers, I’d compare myself to those who had many. After I’d reached a decent subscriber count, I started comparing engagement metrics like comments, etc.

It’s only recently that I came to embrace the fact that all of that is pure noise. The beauty of Substack is that there’s no RIGHT way to do it.

Some writers here have hundreds of thousands of subscribers, only a small portion of whom might engage beyond reading. Others have a more modest subscriber base which is highly engaged.

Some post on Notes and interact there every day. Others don’t use Notes at all.

Some collaborate with other writers regularly. Others fly solo.

Some want to build a community, while others just want to get their writing out there…

…and everything in between.

Metrics are fun to track, but they don’t come close to telling the full story.

So figure out what you’re here for and focus on what you truly enjoy doing.

Trust that your audience will find you.

Just keep at it!

Expand full comment

Substack introduced tags earlier this year. Tags are great, but Substack's tagging system is different than most other platforms. When you add tags to a post, they don't show up automatically; you have to decide how you want to use them on your site.

I wrote up a guide called Using Tags, that might be helpful to anyone who hasn't started using tags yet: https://www.mostlypython.com/p/using-tags

Expand full comment

✏️ - Does anyone else panic about their level of sharing when posting personal essays? I have mostly been writing about trauma, mental health crisis, and the like. When I first publish a piece, I feel deep satisfaction that I've said what I needed to say and represented myself in a true and vulnerable way. But then I often end up waking up at 3:00 AM in a cold sweat, thinking:

*Why the hell am I telling people about my darkest, most private thoughts?!?*

Anyone else do that? Any strategies for getting out of one's head about it? Or, sheesh, am I just an anxious-avoidant crazy person? πŸ‘€

Expand full comment

We turned on our paid subscriptions today! We are so nervous but so excited to be part of the Substack community and are nearing 1,000 subscribers!

Expand full comment

I have seen a lot of backlash against auto play videos on here.

Wouldn’t the solution be having the option - to be able to select or deselect auto play video content on here? Curate one’s own feed according to personal taste?

It sounds a simple way of pleasing everyone.

Expand full comment

🧠 Listen to your final draft before publishing

For those of you who use Reader (Readwise's read later app), I've been using the "Listen" feature to help me finalize drafts before publishing – it's been super helpful in catching typos & weird sentence structures!

1. In your Substack draft, hit "Preview" -> "Test" -> Copy Secret draft link

2. Save the draft to your Reader (https://read.readwise.io/)

3. To listen, open the essay on your phone or tablet via Reader

4. Tap the "Listen" button at the top right of the page

Shout out to Leo Hepis who originally passed along the wisdom!

Expand full comment

I am at the beginning of my Substack experience. I am a photographer and writer (mostly involved in education and creative writing). I have no idea if anything I do would appeal to others. Any additional advice? As it is, I am sharing my thoughts surrounding my images, which I hope to be somewhat inspirational. meg-leaf.pixels.com

Expand full comment

I'd like to understand whether there will be a "live" component to the new video features: can we record content live, or can we only upload pre-recorded content? I'm trying to understand whether I can host classes (webinar-style) on the platform.

Expand full comment

Please @substack. No to autoplay. Give us a choice. I choose not to open video now, and often will just delete posts that are just video and no text. I come here for the writing - those words on the screenpage. Please don't force video onto me.

Expand full comment

Hello Everyone!

In celebration of the new Substack Video feature it would have been rude not to give it a go.

In the first of a series of How To Substack posts I used the new tool to take you through how to optimise your Welcome Page.

I'd love to know what you think and the pain points you'd like me to cover in a future video.

https://neverstoplearning1.substack.com/p/how-to-substack-refining-your-welcome

Expand full comment

🟧 ✏️Greetings, Substack team! May I submit three feature requests please? I don't know what others think:

* coloured text

* text wrap

* ability to Paywall particular sections rather than everything or nothing

Thanks!

Expand full comment

Hi all! Hoping to hit 400 subscribers before 2024 and trying not to worry that I’m not growing faster. In your experience, is it hardest to get the first 500 subscribers?

Expand full comment

Is there a way to preview a specific quote or line and/or embed that quote in a promo image from a post, and if so, how?

Example: https://substack.com/@simonkjones/note/c-43844260

^. I like that. How do I do that?

Expand full comment

I can't imagine any scenario where my Substack doesn't become so popular and famous that I become the first-ever write-in candidate that wins the United States Presidential Election. As President, obviously, all my communication needs to have top flight security clearance. So my question is: Will the Secret Service allow me to Substack?

Expand full comment

🧠 This great Reddit thread popped up yesterday in the Substack Writers group, where folks are sharing how long it took them to reach 200 subscribers, and what strategies they used. I shared a few thoughts, and already got five new subscribers from my interactions there, so check it out and drop your two cents:

https://www.reddit.com/r/Substack/s/nvKKb70ccn

Folks in the thread have been asking me how I have achieved a nearly 20% conversion rate on paid subscribers, with 65-75% open rates. I have a lot to share, so I am working on a post documenting my journey.

If you’d like to receive it, sign up for my Substack at www.lizexplores.com, where I write about infertility, mental health, and adventure. I’m hoping to share my strategies post in the coming week. (Very meta, I know…)

Expand full comment

✏️ Hi everyone! I recently started sharing fiction on Substack. Here's my first story: https://macyseestheworld.substack.com/p/sparrow-bones-part-i

Are there other fiction writers out there who'd like to connect or who have advice about how to build a fiction-centered community? Also, feel free to drop your best/most recent stories for us to read!

Expand full comment

Also, as I'm sure you've seen a ton of creators are requesting that you get rid of the revision to our post's visual assets that shows the first paragraph of the post, instead of just the post title and subtitle as you did before. Because the first paragraph of most posts is usually welcome and throat-clearing, the visuals look clunky and unprofessional now.

Expand full comment

i've used Substack video a few times, when sharing song demos! i don't have a lot of subscriptions which use video very much but i honestly welcome the focus on it.

how is everyone doinggggg? are we all going to take breaks over Christmas or are we gonna schedule it, or just power through and keep writing during the holidays?

Expand full comment

🟧 Shameless Self Promo here. I would love to be featured as a humor writer. I just started interviewing Funny AF Women. There are so many funny gals I may have to post twice a week to keep up with the plethora of interviews.

Expand full comment

🟧I got an email today from a Substack which said "You've been invited to subscribe to xxx". It was sent to my personal email address not my Substack address. The subject line was β€œPlease confirm your email for xxx”. There was a link in it with the words β€œis this spam?” but it just went to a blank Support page.

There is small print saying β€œYou received this email because you asked to be notified when added to a mailing list. Change your settings here.” But I couldn’t see anything relevant. And anyway, I don’t want to be added to a mailing list unless I ask to. I know I haven’t subscribed to this (it’s only 2 days old).

I don’t want random Stacks to β€œinvite” me – how do I make it stop? How did they get my email address? And why are you allowing this? It’s a serious privacy issue.

Expand full comment

🟧 Engagement metrics: What does reader engagement look like throughout the year? Does readership dip through the holidays?

Expand full comment

✏️ Just happy to join this community. A month ago I started what I think might be a pretty niche publication about our desire for the perfect cure and have about 55 subscribers. I am also looking at views - more than 1180 in my first month. Feels good to use my journalist's research skills + my real voice. I love engaging with other writers too. Y'all are amazing. This is hard work. Looking forward to more, including collaborating with others.

Expand full comment

I think a great feature to have would be the ability to create our own lists in Notes of people we want to follow. Being able to refine it ourselves to "Musicians", "Poets", or whatever would be amazing.

Expand full comment

✏️ Hi, all!

I’ve been seeing a lot of people write about, or allude to, experiences within toxic workplaces. While it’s truly heartbreaking to read about what some people have been through, it’s also very empowering to see such experiences discussed openly.

I’m wondering... how do you guys balance the fine line between authentically sharing what happened and avoiding saying something that could result in legal repercussions?

Expand full comment

🟧 ✏️ I'm new on Substack. I'm a photographer and writer. My writing includes my inspirational thoughts surrounding and related to my images. While I have written a great deal on the topic of education, I'd rather provide inspiration on this platform, as I have been maligned for my views on how the education system in the U.S. could be improved. I want to share my images and my website, but also provide thoughts for the day a couple of times a week. Do you have any advice for a newbie such as myself? Would anyone even be interested? Thank you. meg-leaf.pixels.com

Expand full comment

🧠So I'm turning on my PAYWALL -- not yet, but in three weeks from now. I've decided that I'm going to read out my SHORT STORIES AFTER 8 ever Sunday night, and that my serial work on Wednesdays is going behind the paywall. I'm doing this to generate income so I'll be able to print up my stories and mail them to all of my PAID subscribers. It's something I've been thinking about for some time now. I feel if people want my novellas in book form, they can sign up for one. All they have to do is send me a post card with their address on it. I need 65-70 PAID subscribers though. So I dropped the price of a yearly subscription down to $30 (Can), which is dirt cheap. ($21 American.) I don't expect a lot of people will take me up on this, because I don't have a huge following, but hopefully some will.

Expand full comment

🧠 Anyone interested in lending voiceovers to fellow stacks. This is another way of guest posting that may be lucrative for both. Thoughts?

Expand full comment

I think some support around video makes a lot of sense to me. I love reading and writing essays, but sometimes there is something that calls for a video/audio supplement. I think that's the thing everyone needs to keep in mind: these are tools for you to use at your discretion.

Here's my first video in case anyone is curious. I embedded it into an essay with a transcript for accessibility. https://theeditingspectrum.substack.com/p/video-3-quotes-i-loved-this-week

Expand full comment

I would love the option to disable notes. I know. I’m a Luddite. I’m a sensitive soul who can’t handle social media. I’d love to be able to disable that feature when I need to and only access my inbox.

Expand full comment

a test!

Expand full comment

🟧 I'd love it if the image asset that accompanies a post could just include the headline and subhead. Including additional text leading into the piece seems awkward and detracts from the headline itself. It doesn't necessarily function as a teaser.

Expand full comment

Any Irish Substackers on here???

Expand full comment

πŸŸ₯✏️ I am wondering if/when Substack will introduce an AI writing app built-in to the text editor, and whether people would actually like this. I use another platform that does that and I think (a) the quality of the output is rubbish (thank goodness!), and (b) it is fundamentally dishonest, and (c) I write so much as it is I don't need help from an AI bot. But I wondered what people's thoughts on the idea are

Expand full comment

🟧 -I recently started doing voiceovers for my posts (since Substack doesn't like me and won't do automatic ones :). Is there any way for me to find out how often people listen to them?

Expand full comment

i am trying to write as many guest posts as possible, I have had good success with growing my audience via cannibalizing other audiences

how do I find new Substacks to guest post on?

Expand full comment

🟧 Two suggestions I would make for the Substack team to think about for the future, and I know it probably won't be any time soon. I would love to be able to combine my website with my Substack in one of two ways:

- Substack offers the ability to create a basic website into which I can integrate my Substack newsletter/main page

- I can somehow embed the latter into my existing website in place of my blog (which offers the exact same articles at the moment)

I know y'all want to keep it free and that's fine but I would pay extra for this.

Expand full comment

🧠 - I had some fun with the voiceover feature this week as part of a collaboration with Alison Acheson. Scheduling live interviews is hard, and sometimes writers want to get the words right. So we opted for an email exchange over about a month that we edited into a written conversation. Then we each recorded our lines, doing a little acting to make it feel less canned, and I combined the two recordings into a single file for the voiceover.

This isn't groundbreaking, but I mention it because it can be a real timesaver compared to podcasting. If you're recording lines instead of speaking extemporaneously, you don't have much editing to do. All you do is create a voice memo, press record once, and create pauses between segments or when you mess up and want to start over. The result makes your content accessible to more readers and gives someone the option of pressing "play" while making dinner or doing something else with their hands.

Here's the result: https://joshuadolezal.substack.com/p/should-a-workshop-be-a-safe-space

Expand full comment

✏️ would love tips on how to *easily* offer more things for paid subscribers

Expand full comment

🧠 don't be afraid to stop writing after this next week. I have found that posting less has only increased my subscriber count while allowing me to focus on what I want to do. Plus its the holidays, people will be busy.

Expand full comment

A feature by which one could go back as see notes and comments would be nice!

Expand full comment

🟧 I'm a physician and much of my writing will be medical commentaries. I haven't set my banner up. Do you recommend me including a photo of me in my "official" white coat on my banner.

Expand full comment

I am hosting a Substack meetup in Long Beach on 12/8 at the Hangar @ LBX. https://lu.ma/t2e7t0j7

Expand full comment

What is Substack doing to deal with the increasing presence of extreme right wing authors? I am all for free speech however some of what I am reading and hearing about is not pretty.

Expand full comment

✏️ Hello fellow writers, I am looking ahead to the spring of 2024 and would like some ideas to celebrate the 5th anniversary of the publication of my book, "Tap, Taste, Heal: Used Emotional Freedom Techniques (EFT) to Eat Joyfully and Love Your Body," which was released by North Atlantic Books in April 2019:

https://www.penguinrandomhouse.com/books/595395/tap-taste-heal-by-marcella-friel/

I'm envisioning the event to be a few weeks to a month long. My goals with the event would be to sell copies of the book and to build my audience here on Substack.

My ideas include

β€’ Interviews with the people who endorsed the book

β€’ Interviews with experts I mention in the book

β€’ Reprinting excerpts of the book on my Substack

β€’ Hosting a giveaway of book copies

β€’ Essay(s) by me about what has changed for me since the publication of the book

β€’ What else?

Thanks for taking time to respond.

Expand full comment

🟧 Hello Substack brass. Was wondering if you've considered implementing a feature where subscribers or non-subscribers are prompted to pay for a specific post. Seems like it's working well for Patreon, Passes, and other subscription content services. Thanks!

Expand full comment

🟧 Will these office hours ever be at a consistent time? I find them valuable, but I miss them frequently because the timing seems random.

Expand full comment