1064 Comments

To help organize the conversation, please use one of the following emojis when you start a new comment.

🧠 - when sharing strategy or advice for fellow writers

✏️ - when asking questions or seeking feedback from fellow writers

🟧 - when asking a question you hope the Substack team can help answer

Use your emoji keyboard or simply copy and paste the emoji at the beginning of your comment.

Expand full comment

🟧 I would like to know how Substack plans to protect writers from Stripe's new dispute fee policy in which a $15 dispute fee is levied for any chargeback, regardless of the outcome. I recently had a paid subscriber dispute four monthly charges without any attempt to contact me and this has resulted in me being docked with $60 in dispute fees before the outcome is even decided. I will not recoup the fees if I win the dispute. This policy puts writers in a vulnerable position and my conversations with Substack support have not yielded any encouraging information about what Substack will do to better protect writers from the new Stripe policy. Many of us are concerned about this and so I'm asking here, once again: how is Substack going to meaningfully respond to this Stripe dispute fee policy change?

Expand full comment

🧠 - Add a Directory of Posts to your Substack

Hey Substack writers, I'm sharing an example of how I organize posts via a directory page. See here: https://alyssapolizzi.substack.com/p/directory

If you're interested in utilizing tags, this is a great way to make them accessible for readers. I have a select number of categories (tags) that I usually write under. Each time I publish a new post, I'll add the relevant tags and the directory is updated automatically. The directory functions as a convenient landing page, facilitating easier post navigation compared to the search feature. I also suggest including brief descriptions for each category.

I've received great feedback from readers on how useful the directory is. Let me know if you have any questions on setup, etc.

Expand full comment

Substack recommendations are the way. Build partnerships with other related newsletters and watch your subscribers grow as your network grows.

+7500 subscribers this year alone, mostly from this method.

Expand full comment

🧠 I’m celebrating that I’ve more than DOUBLED my subscriber list in the past five weeks, from 193 to 394! 🥳 I’ve had two New York Times best-selling authors subscribe to read my writing, and I’ve gotten three new recommendations. All through engaging with the Substack platform!

I’m writing an article about what’s worked for me. If you’d like to receive it in your inbox, you can subscribe at www.lizexplores.com, where I share stories from my life about infertility, mental health, and adventure. I’m not a writing coach; I just want to answer the questions people have been asking me and help fellow newbies!

For context, I started my Substack in December 2022 with zero audience and zero publications to my name, so the perspective I offer is one of starting from scratch and writing for the sake of writing. I don’t sell anything to my audience other than my writing itself, with a handful of paywalled posts that are personal in nature. Most of my work, including the article I’m working on now, is free.

Expand full comment

🧠 I took an unannounced break of almost 2 months from publishing. I published my first post back last week, no apologies for being MIA from peoples' inboxes or anything—just picked it back up. No one unsubscribed and my stats are about the same! Moral of the story: take breaks as needed, it doesn't have to be a big thing imho.

Expand full comment

🟧 This was recently posted: https://substack.com/inbox/post/139779766. It is a collective letter addressed to Substack Leadership about the surge of Substack newsletters promoting nazi ideals. Is it possible to find a way to discuss how to tackle this as a community since the founders seems adverse to taking a step?

Expand full comment

I don't know any writers in real life, so I greatly appreciated the opportunity to meet fellow Substackers in my resident city of the San Fransisco Bay Area. Once again, thank you Substack for helping us make connections and learn about what other people are working on locally, not just across the world.

Expand full comment

✏️ Our first SF/Bay Area meetup was a huge success (see photo above ⬆️)—and for me personally, a highlight of these past few weeks. It was so sweet to actually meet so many writers in person, and to see how positive and engaged everyone was. Our main goal was to **support each other in our growth as writers** and of course to have fun meeting some new people. Have you hosted a meetup? What was your organizing principle? Thinking about doing it? What's stopping you?

Expand full comment

🟧 I need to know how Substack plans to address the problem of Nazi presence and racism here?

Expand full comment

🧠 - I went to my first Substack meetup recently in Long Beach, California. I highly recommend reaching out to the author of The Author Stack, Russell Nohelty, for advice. His Substack has lots of great information!

Expand full comment

✏️ - I've been feeling a bit stuck recently, despite finally breaking the 1K threshold after a year, I feel like I'm hitting a bit of a ceiling in terms of growth and don't really know what strategies to adopt. I've been posting constantly but my essays generally take a lot of research to write and the slow growth I've seen and the few likes is sometimes disheartening so I would like to find new ways to create little surges in subscriptions, any advice?

For context I'm a PhD researcher in anthropology writing on visual culture, the creative industry and capitalism.

Expand full comment

🟧 It would be great if we could see post view statistics over time, similar to how we can see all blog views over time.

Expand full comment

✏️ My subscribers have been indicating that they're interested in receiving more content along the lines of "creativity as self-care" (i.e. journaling prompts). I'm curious to know how other folks on Substack who are writing in a similar vein are supporting their readers with the current set of tools (i.e. using audio for meditations or accessibility). I'm also looking to book out interviews and guest posts in 2024 along these lines, with people who work at the intersection of care and creativity (i.e. teachers with a podcast or music side gig, therapists who paint, etc.). If you're interested in connecting, please respond below or feel free to post your own requests/offerings here in my space, if you'd like extra eyes on it!

https://ryanroseweaver.substack.com/p/roll-call-a-potluck-dinner-for-feelings

Expand full comment

Hello, nervous newbie here! I already have an audience on another platform where I write about raising tween and teen girls. I want to bring that audience across, but I'd also like to expand my topic range.My first question is: Do you recommend keeping with my current niche content and then gradually introducing more topics? My second question is: Can I change the name of my substack later as I evolve my content? Thanks so much!

Expand full comment

🟧 - Hey there, are there any plans to expand the use of the paywall? I would like to insert content/material within a post that only paid subscribers could access (video/picture/etc). This would really offer me a seamless way to create more intimacy without having to create a whole different email.

Expand full comment

🟧 Why is Substack platforming and promoting Nazis, and when is that going to change?

Expand full comment

Use the option to send emails to free subscribers only, not publishing to Substack (email only), and run sales for upgrading to paid.

My Black Friday sale resulted in 91 upgrades 🤯

Expand full comment

🧠publish less going forward into the new year. You will still see engagement and you will give your mind a much needed rest. Trust me.

Expand full comment

🟧 Can I offer subscriptions for a period other than a year? for example, a price for a quarter. Is it mandatory to offer an annual subscription as one of the options? Thank you!

Expand full comment

🧠✏️ Hi Substack community!

I wondered if anyone had tried any new methods of converting free subs into paid recently?

I have just tried sending a discount code to 500 of my most active free readers for 25% off the usual rate but I saw very very little conversion (maybe 13-14 new paid subs). This was my first time experimenting with it but I see a lot of writers do frequent promotions so I expected better results. Thought I'd share in case this is something you guys considered doing (it takes quite a bit of time, some parts of the process were quite manual). Let me know if you've got any other ideas! I wish I could do more to reach the goals I'd set for myself for this end of year.

All the best to all!

Expand full comment

🟧 Is there a way to make specific content available for subscribers only, paid or unpaid? I am working on a report that I would like to share with subscribers/use it to attract new ones. Thank you!

Expand full comment

hello fellow Substackers!

So nice to see you all 🥰 I’m super proud of myself for keeping to my writing so regularly for a few months now.

Though I’m really running out of brainwaves here. The last post I wrote took so much walking and thinking ( it doesn’t really show but trust me it did!) that I feel a little depleted after completing it. It needs an edit and it’s not all I wanted it to be but I’m proud of it anyway.

🟧 where do you get inspiration? Especially after finishing a stretch of challenging writing?

Expand full comment

Hey hey! I have finally launched the English version of my French newsletter. Should I write my bio in French / English or would u recommend to stick to one language?

Expand full comment

✏️🟧 Newbie here! Just launched my substack, Mother of a Dilemma, last month. It's designed to help those who are on the fence and struggling with making the decision of whether or not have kids. I'm not really sure how to grow it, especially on the substack platofrm. Is there a good way to help people find it? TIA and excited to be part of the community :) https://valeriemariep.substack.com/

Expand full comment

🧠

New to Office Hours? Don’t be intimidated. We’re a supportive community here. It can feel overwhelming; don’t let it. Just take it day by day. This is one of the best writing platforms around. Substack respects our intelligence by not forcing ads on us, and by allowing writers as much control as possible over our own material.

A great way to build a subscriber list is to:

1. Write quality material regularly, 1-2 times per week (plus or minus);

2. Engage with other writers on the platform in a positive, affirming, honest manner;

3. Always attend and comment in Office Hours;

4. Read and comment on other writers’ stacks.

5. Don’t be afraid to self-promote, but do it as part of the community with other writers in mind.

6. We can all share, comment on and recommend each other’s work. Plus there’s cross-posting, guest-posting, etc.

*One final suggestion/note: Write honestly. Get real, raw and vulnerable. Pull no punches. Writing is about guts, not safety. 👌

Here’s a helpful link: https://michaelmohr.substack.com/p/what-is-the-point-of-substack-making

Best of luck!

Michael Mohr

‘Sincere American Writing’

https://michaelmohr.substack.com/

Expand full comment

What actions will you take regarding the issue of Nazism, as discussed in "The Atlantic" article and the open letter from Substackers? As a German, I find this very difficult to bear. I have come across some problematic newsletters on Substack myself and am appelled by what I found there! https://www.theatlantic.com/ideas/archive/2023/11/substack-extremism-nazi-white-supremacy-newsletters/676156

Expand full comment

✏️ and 🟧 - I am planning to offer a paid tier at the end of this year or the beginning of 2024. Is there a lot of sense in turning on pledges now? I turned them off way back when, mainly because I wanted a more frictionless way for people to subscribe for free, but now that the paid option's approaching, it is starting to seem like a good idea.

Thoughts are appreciated from folks who have done this before!

Expand full comment

What are you doing to curtail the spread of Nazi propaganda on this platform?

Expand full comment

🟧 - (substack emoji, I hope)

Is there a way to view a publication's pricing tiers without subscribing?

My experience has been that if you click Subscribe, you've taken to the pricing tiers, but even if you decide not to (and don't select any tier), you're automatically subbed as a free subscriber.

Expand full comment

Nothing makes one feel older (esp if one is undeniably "old") than learning how to navigate a new interactive platform...namely, this one. I was today years old when I finally figured out how to post, which would be cause for embarrassment if I could actually feel that. Mostly I am bewildered by the myriad options and suggestions and peculiarities of the process. Writing is easy, Substack is tough.

Expand full comment

🟧 or ✏️ - I am trying to understand the organization of Substack subscribers and followers. For example, I think there are some people who "follow me" but don't subscribe to my newsletter. Consequently, there are also places where I can engage with subscribers. How do I engage with followers? What do they see? Are there any places that explain this in depth? Thank you in advance!

Expand full comment

✏️ I'm hoping you can share some advice on how to cleverly integrate a translation of your publication into Substack.

I'm experimenting with how to present both the original English texts and the German translations on my Substack. However, it's proving to be a bit tricky, and I don’t want to confuse my readers.

Has anyone found an elegant solution to handle translations in a way that’s clear and accessible for readers?

Expand full comment

🟧 Is X/Twitter still throttling links to Substack? How can I get around this? Unfortunately I've got no choice but to find other platforms to promote my work like Facebook, Substack, Instagram & Threads. X has taken away all the good positive metrics my media company and I used to have. They're not telling me why. Even when I deleted likes and retweets of individuals that take your positive metrics away as detailed in this great blog post (https://medium.com/thought-thinkers/the-x-algorithm-encourages-self-censorship-df4fafa0afe4) X/Twitter is still not telling me what is going on. Filing an FTC complaint today.

Expand full comment

🟧 ✏️ Please, how can I send an email only to annually paid subscribers? Is it possible? I want to offer a bonus (e-book) to those subscribers.

Expand full comment

What would you guys say is a decent open rate? I'm normally around the 40% mark, depending on how clicky my bait is, but don't know if that's any good or not ✏️

Expand full comment

How do I get myself to write again after a month-and-half bout of writer's block? Also keep in mind I plan to be a billionaire writer.

Expand full comment

✏️Hi there, I'm very excited to be here on Substack. My husband's passing back in 2021 was the wake up call I needed to

be more visible online. I never in a million years expected to be starting over as a widow at 60, but I am.

And I have a lot to teach women about how to bounce back from hardship. I'd like to create a substack for my empowerment coaching for women and a separate one talking about grants.

I have so many questions. What is the size for photos? Is there a video available showing how to create a post? Can I add videos to my post?

Thank you,

Andrea

Expand full comment

🟧 hello Substack team! Would LOVE if you could add a setting so free subscribers can comment on paid posts!My paid posts offer a long free read before the pay wall so it’d be great if everyone had the ability to comment (rather than the current options which are “nobody” or “just paid subscribers” can comment). Thanks!!

Expand full comment

🟧 Firstly, the Substack Web UI is truly a joy to navigate as a writer and as a reader but this is not translated all that well if at all in the Substack mobile app. The Writer Dashboard is the greatest omission and the inability to navigate different Sections of someone’s publication ranks just as highly; tagging my posts according to genre for easier accessibility only seems to benefit my readers if they are on Substack Web. Can the Writer Dashboard and Sections feature be included in the Substack App?

Secondly, as a writer outside of Stripe’s listed partner regions, I am not accommodated and thus unable to setup paid subscriptions. An alternative financial service that could run alongside Stripe, especially for writers in the Global South, ought to be considered and implemented. Is this possible?

Expand full comment

Question! I have a strong aversion to social media - is it possible for me to even have a successful Substack?

Expand full comment

🧠 - I'm honored to be participating in a collaborative series this week with five other writers. This is our second series. The first was about fatherhood, and this week we are taking a crack at what "recovery" means to each of us.

I take no credit for the idea -- it's been a total group effort. But I mention it as another way of building community on this platform, in addition to guest posts, cross posting, and other forms of mutual aid.

The series continues tomorrow and Saturday, but here are the installments so far:

https://lathamturner.substack.com/p/the-tao-of-no-one?utm_source=substack&utm_campaign=post_embed&utm_medium=web

https://joshuadolezal.substack.com/p/a-sadness-that-holds-hope-for-joy?utm_source=substack&utm_campaign=post_embed&utm_medium=web

https://bowendwelle.substack.com/p/learning-to-ride?utm_source=substack&utm_campaign=post_embed&utm_medium=web

https://michaelmohr.substack.com/p/addiction-and-recovery?utm_source=substack&utm_campaign=post_embed&utm_medium=web

Expand full comment

🟧 A suggestion and question!

- I'd love a pause button on the audio recording feature

- I'm unclear on if/how the Podcast feature automatically exports to podcast platforms, or if it just creates a link/file that Stackers can upload.

I record all of my posts (my readers/listeners love it!) the content isn't podcast-native and I'm not interesting in making is so, but if it can make it easier for my readers to follow it on Apple, Spotify, whateva', I'd like to. Thank you!

Expand full comment

🟧 ✏️ Greetings! I have a question about subscribers please. I have a umber of subscribers coming from the Substack recommendations page. What is that please? Secondly, several of those subscribers have an email address like fred.blogs99@yahoo.com, with no profile or posts. Wouold I be right in thinking theyre bots or spam? Thanks

Expand full comment

✏️ I created my Substack, https://intranetfromthetrenches.substack.com/, a year ago and it's been a wonderful experience. I feel I opened my mind to the world and I'm able to show my ideas, opinions and experiences. However, it's been quite difficult to grow in susbscribers and visits. Recently, I reached 100 subscriptors, and I amazed 100 people that are interested in my content, and I show other substacks in which in 1 year they get thousands of subscriptors so thousands of visits.

I promote my articles in LinkedIn, Mastodon and other small groups around WhatsApp and Discord. But I'm not feeling that is the right place or my content is not the right one.

I would like to understand if my content is a mess in terms of topics I write about. And, secondly, what is the kind of self-promotion you do to grow.

Thanks in advanced.

Expand full comment

Feeling good about the upcoming launch of my first “exclusive for paid” post in the new year.

Also, giving away a little Christmas present tomorrow.

Expand full comment

I really must ask why you have not contemplated making monetization possible for writer in Latin America.

Expand full comment

🧠 I’m celebrating moving across to Substack from Beehiiv!

I’m not familiar with all the ins and outs of Substack yet, I’m just happy to be here and open to recommendation swaps! (2.5k subs, audience is mainly founders)

📙 Is there a way to get the recommendations pop up on Embeded forms as well? My newsletter is partly hosted on Wordpress https://juicyideas.com

Expand full comment

Thank you so much for this kind response. I know it would favor many Latin creatives and writers who also struggle with precarious systems. It would be amazing if you added PayPal. I believe - as many do - that Substack is providing a revolution, it really would me amazing for Latin America as well. In my case, Colombia. Thank you so much.

Expand full comment