1049 Comments

We're going to try something new this week! Start your comment with an emoji to signal who you are looking to talk with at Office Hours.

✏️ - when asking questions or seeking feedback from fellow writers

🟧 - when asking a question you hope the Substack team can help answer

Use your emoji keyboard or simply copy and paste the emoji at the beginning of your comment.

Expand full comment

Words are powerful. Be careful what you write, because you can subconsciously become that. I used to title my blog, "a struggling mom" until I realized that the title may be self-fulfilling. I changed my substack to "A Thriving Mom" and I definitely identify with that more. Remember the power of words!!

Expand full comment

✏️ Hello all, and happy Office Hours! Here's a little bit of encouragement from one small newsletter to all of you:

I think we can all agree that no matter who you are, life will sometimes get in the way of writing the way we want to write. Hardships happen. Stress happens. Grief happens. We can lack the time, space, privacy, emotional stability, or energy to sit down and put words on the page (or screen), and it's really easy to feel guilty about that.

But here's what I say: sometimes, your hardships will inspire you to write. Maybe differently than you're used to, maybe with a different tone, rhythm, or focus. Or, sometimes a season of hardship is a cue to take a break and refill, stock up on inspiration, and don't worry about output for a while. But the only bad option is to punish yourself. You're not a failure if you need a change of creative pace! Just roll with it and see what happens!

Most importantly: keep going, keep writing, and DON'T GIVE UP! 🌿

Expand full comment

✏️ 🟧 Just saying have a nice weekend to everybody!

Expand full comment

✏️ - I have one general tip for anyone going paid with their newsletter (which I previously posted in a Paid Subscriptions thread, and it was well-received, so hopefully it's useful here too?)...

It's this:

>*Send each of those new paid subscribers a personal email of thanks.*<

I bet few people do this, and certainly nobody beyond a certain level of success when they have thousands of subscribers, because that could get insanely time-consuming.

But early on, when you're just getting a few dozen paid subs, or anything up to a hundred? Try saying thanks by personal email, and go that extra step towards appearing human and approachable to them.

(And if you can spare the time, write that email entirely 'by hand', not using some copy & paste template - and maybe even Google their email address to see if you can find out something about them. If you say thanks and then "ps. I think you're in Montana? Is that right? Gorgeous part of the world - I'm jealous!" then you will look *amazingly* human. And you can't look too human in this line of work.)

Expand full comment

🟧 Loving Notes so far, but I have a question:

Will there be a way to organize notes like a topic feed?

I don't think hashtags may be the answer, since that would just be turning Notes into more like Twitter, but maybe give the option of adding 3-5 pre-selected tags at the end of a Note? The topics could be the same list provided by the Substack newsfeed. Could tags also be applied to stories as well?

Expand full comment

🟧 - Hi, I'd love to see an option to include a first name in email to subscribers, to make the readers experience more personal. Like, in the email headers that you can set-up in the settings. Would that be possible?

Expand full comment

🟧 notes is fun and all but I am not seeing any major traction from it yet. Would be great if we can have analytics on the best times of the day to post.

Expand full comment

Hi! Any tips on how to utilize Notes if you have a smaller audience on the Substack app?

Expand full comment

✏️ Hi everyone! I'm always interested to hear how other writers plan and organise their content: Do you have set days of the week to write/publish? Do you have a bank of content or write each piece at the time? How has the way you do things evolved as you've spent more time here?

At the moment I post a weekly letter on Sunday (write on Saturdays, usually) and a monthly round-up of favourite newsletters/books/audio/TV etc. I'm going to be offering more in the coming months (new occasional writing series, more photography, video content and voice notes) but for now I'm keeping it simple and getting into a flow. You can also find me on Notes proably sharing a photo of dog/cat/tea.👋

Expand full comment

Hello Katie, I'm still not clear on how Notes can grow your audience if it only goes to your existing subscribers?? (Some people said last week how much extra subscriptions from notes but how/why?)

Sorry can't find you red square emoji!

Expand full comment

✏️ Hello lovelies! Looking forward to chatting with all of you today, especially on how we can build a mutually beneficial and supportive community and network. My ideas are much better when they've been tested in the fires of writers' opinions!

Expand full comment

✏️ Sending a thought that may help a lot as you grow your Substack:

There’s no rush.

We’re all just writers at work.

You’re doing great.

https://serialize.substack.com/

Expand full comment

🟧 Is there a way to submit my newsletter be featured in Substack Reads? We've had some publicity in the WSJ recently (SO EXCITING) and would love to keep the momentum going! Thanks!

Expand full comment

🟧 I would really love it if Substack could make it easy to generate an index of posts. I'd like to (belatedly) start a few, and it's going to involve a lot of copying and pasting :-(

Expand full comment

🟧 - Hi, I'm asking about reading someone's publication before subscribing: There was a button at the bottom of the screen that said, "Read First." It got replaced with "No Thanks." I want to bring back the "Read First" phrasing. It was friendlier. That's my vote. Thank you!

Expand full comment

✏️ Question for fellow newbie writers and more established folk. How do you encourage interaction on the Substack platform itself? I've started threads, but crickets so far. I do have a small following, but I've spoken to some and know the content resonates (on leadership - find me at Lead with Intention) but they are seemingly shy about jumping in. Any advice?

Expand full comment

✏️ 🟧 This is a question for both fellow writers and Substackers...

What is the best way to work on posts and potentially publish them while on the go? Since the mobile app doesn't allow you to start a new post or work on an existing draft, I've been using the Chrome app on my iPhone to navigate to the website. This works OK, but is a little less stable than on my laptop and not quite optimized for this use. Any suggestions for third-party apps? Or is this a functionality that we'll get on the Substack app eventually?

Expand full comment

I figured the paid option was coming. Makes total sense for the platform although I enjoy being able to talk to anyone regardless of the status.

Expand full comment

I’m so proud of myself. Been struggling with how many days to publish for a long time and not be overwhelmed. In my going to 3 weeks on substack and writing to about 400 people build from zero using LinkedIn, I experimented several days, but I kept to the same time from day 1(7am GMT)

Now that I have found my days(Tuesdays and Saturday posting of curated opportunities, Wednesday and Thursday posting of personally written essays), I believe I’m on the journey to my first 1000. I will need alot of help, hence if you think my writings will benefit your audience, kindly reach out or recommend my substack https://gradinterface.substack.com/

Expand full comment

🟧Hey! Any new categories planned? Can I suggest "Gaming" ? Thanks

Expand full comment

OFFICE HOURS

The best thing you can do as a new writer on Substack is:

1. Write quality, engaging material

2. Post regularly and consistently (I recommend 2-3 times per week but this is wildly variable; you want to hook people’s interest without exploding their email inbox)

3. Read other Substacks and comment on them; try to be courteous, thoughtful and positive.

4. Reach out to other writers who write similar material after you’ve been writing a while and ask to cross-post, collaborate, etc.

5. Remember that Substack is a writing community; support others.

6. Attend Substack Office Hours

7. Read, subscribe, and pay for my Substack, Sincere American Writing. *(This is required.) 😎😳😂

Michael Mohr

‘Sincere American Writing’

https://michaelmohr.substack.com/

Expand full comment

🟧 - I'm approaching my 1-year anniversary on Substack with "About Theme Parks." I love everything about it, but I'd really like to generate more subscribers. I'm not necessarily interested in getting a ton of paid subscribers (although that'd be great), but I'd like to have considerably more general subscribers. I was part of the Grow group (if that's what it was called) earlier this year, I've been reading emails from Substack as well as comments here, and have tried all kinds of strategies. Despite early encouraging subscriber growth for the first 3 months or so, the past 9 months has been a slog.

I think I need some hands-on help, and I'm wondering whether you have any thoughts or resources about consultants who may be able to assist me. I really want to make this work, but I'm frustrated by the slow progress. Are there folks out there who (for a fee, obviously) could help me rev up my subscriber base? Thanks for any suggestions.

Expand full comment

✏️ Hello, fellow writers! Its not too much to say my life has changed since starting on Substack. I’m happy to be here and look forward to connecting with many of you! Writing in a community of writers has already had a positive impact on my writing.

Expand full comment

✏️ Is anyone else using a lead magnet to bring people to their newsletter?

I've added about 20 new subscribers this afternoon from sharing 2 different lead magnets on Facebok and LinkedIn.

Happy to explain how if it helps anyone else.

Expand full comment

I'm struggling to find my responses to other people's notes. I might want to go back to a thread to see replies from others. Not sure if I'm missing something.

Expand full comment

The new "My Subscribers" tab is a good innovative feature, thanks.

Expand full comment

I am a firm believer in freedom of speech. That said, I am more than a little concerned about the recent reports of hate and extremism that have been taking root on Substack. How do you, Substack, moderate content? Are there any guidelines put forth by Substack?

Expand full comment

✏️ - Hi writers! I want to start spending a little more time exploring Substack and connecting with other writers. Until now I've just subscribed to a few newsletters I've found in passing, but mainly I only come here to work on my own.

I'm just curious if any of you specifically allocate time in your week to reading other writers' work?

I find myself getting into an all-or-nothing approach with this type of thing unless I actually schedule it - either falling down a wormhole until 2am or forgetting to read anything at all!

Expand full comment

✏️ Hi all! Quick question for those who’ve managed to establish their own communities here - what was your most effective method of gaining new subscribers? I’m trying the usual kinds of things like social media etc., but is there anything that you tried that was quite unconventional but worked really well?

Thanks!

Expand full comment

✏️ What tools and platforms (esp since Twitter is a v different place these days!) have been most effective in sharing your Substack with people outside your existing network?

I write about American national security and defense for Normal People. Sadly, so much of my universe is fellow natsec-types. My Substack is a preview of a book of the same title, style and focus I’m writing so growing and engaging with an audience is a priority for me.

I don’t have Tiktok (non-negotiable), and haven’t logged in to Facebook for years. I use Twitter, Post, Mastadon, and LinkedIn but have a gut feeling I need to do things a little differently. Any recommendations?

Expand full comment

✏️ - I write fantasy and science fiction short stories. Maybe you do, too, and that's pretty alright by me. So alright that I created a community where we can gather, be nerds, and celebrate each other's writing on Substack. It's the called the Lunar Awards, and we just finished our first award season.

Nerd out with us!

https://lunarawards.substack.com

Expand full comment

✏️ FELLOW WRITERS - What are some ways in which you converted free subscribers to paid subscribers? Did you do promotions? Offer a specific type of content?

Share whatever worked for you. I'm looking for ways to up my free-to-paid reader percentage. Thanks in advance!

Expand full comment

✏️ Has anyone worked out what is a good frequency of posting?

Expand full comment

✏️🖊️✏️🖊️✏️ hey y’all....looking to hear some tips for growth...I know I need to post more frequently, but would appreciate some additional suggestions from fellow Substackers on growing one’s audience !! ❤️

Expand full comment

✏️ When I publish a new post (newsletter), is it a good idea to announce it via a Note or would it be kinda annoying to my subscribers as they get too many notifications?

Expand full comment

✏️ what do you think about changing your newsletter name when expanding your topics? How did you choose your name? Any tips for creating an evocative and unique newsletter name?! Haha ❤️

Expand full comment

✏️❤️ Hello fellow writers! I'd love to start a thread right here where we share one of our posts that we are really proud of! That way we can show-off a bit (I've discovered that writers almost always could use the confidence boost), find like-minded writers, and just read some good writing!

Expand full comment

I just wanted to say THANK YOU to the team at Substack for adding the feature that allows posts in individual sections to be excluded from the home page. This small change makes a huge difference!

Expand full comment

✏️ Hello everyone, new writer here!

I'm in the travel niche, and I'm thinking of starting an interview podcast to complement my newsletter. Currently, the newsletter focuses on stories and lessons from my travels. The podcast will feature the travelers and locals I'm meeting to give my audience a more holistic view of my journey.

If you run a podcast, I'm interested in your opinion on these questions.

1. Currently, I've been promoting my newsletter on my personal Insta and Twitter. Do you think I should create a separate account just for the podcast?

2. What has been your most effective strategy for growing your listener count?

3. If you could go back to when you'd just started and give yourself one piece of advice, what would it be?

Looking forward to hearing your thoughts. :)

Expand full comment

✏️ Has anyone sent out a survey to subscribers that gave you valuable information on how to increase conversion on subscriptions from free to paid? What did you ask? Thanks for sharing.

Expand full comment

✏️ I have a question on the Notes thread!

Which examples of great embeds of Notes into articles have you seen?

Share, share, share!!! 📝

Let's continue there: https://on.substack.com/p/office-hours-notes-75/comment/15040302

Expand full comment

✏️ Any novice writers here still trying to figure out their niche?

With notes, there is more insight into what people are doing with Substack which is both good and bad for me.

I see myself comparing to people who have been writing professionally for years and have an established audience when I am _just_ getting started. Not sure if this is a question or just a stream of consciousness.

Expand full comment

✏️Would love to hear people’s opinions on posting frequency. Recently talked to a writer who grew quickly and he held the opinion that quality is better than quantity and that quantity doesn’t necessarily lead to quality.

I’ve always thought that quantity is how you ultimately get to quality.

What are your thoughts?

Expand full comment

🟧 I would like an explanation of what the difference between Notes, versus Chat, versus Notifications. It seems that there is a crossover of notifications on multiple channels. Is there a way to declutter the same things coming via multiple channels? Also, are the developers working on a better connection from the notifications back to the original thread? Right now, I might receive a comment from someone but have zero clue what Note they are responding to... I know it takes time. :)

Expand full comment

🟧 Hi all! Newbie here and loving the site/app so much. Are there any plans to add the writer’s dashboard to the app?

Expand full comment

🟧 Aside from my first note, which I think you highlighted for my subscribers, I’ve gotten almost no feedback for my subsequent notes. Just wanted to mention that!

Expand full comment

Hi WO, can you clarify the difference between when a subscription from direct and a subscription from Substack network?

What’s direct? How did those subscribers find us?

Thanks

Mike McCormick

Expand full comment

✏️ hey fellow writers!

I’m 4 months into consistently writing my weekly newsletter that’s focused on natural wine.

I was wondering if you guys had some feedback you could send my way?

Thanks ❤️

Expand full comment

🟧 Am wondering how to manage Sales Taxes on my newsletter for paid subscribers. I am based in Quebec, Canada and the rules are:

- I should be charging and collecting sales tax based on the province of residence of the buyer for Canadian sales

- I should not be charging and collecting sales tax for sales outside Canada

The best I've come up with so far has been to have Stripe automatically calculate and charge tax to all transactions so I can meet my obligations. However, this is suboptimal because the buyer doesn't see they will be charged tax until they are charged and I am charging tax to international customers where I shouldn't be.

Is there anything in the works for Substack to manage this? Am I missing something?

Expand full comment