417 Comments

Hey all! Thank you for showing up and helping one another.

Next week is my personal favorite Thursday of the month, Shoutout Thread! It's designed to help writers discover and share great writing on Substack. Stop by to share what you’ve been reading and inspired by recently. Save to your calendar: https://lu.ma/shoutout

See you soon,

Katie & Bailey & Rose & Jasmine & Kelsa & Joyce & Lisa & Chloe

Expand full comment

I’d like to request a new feature for readers: a way to sort the archive of posts by Free vs. Paywall. That way, new readers who have not subscribed can click on button and see a whole archive of free posts which they can peruse before making the decision to subscribe. It would save them the trouble of having to scroll through the whole archive and looking for posts without a lock 🔒. Thanks.

Expand full comment

Thanks to your team for your help connecting my substack to Google—just got it right this morning!

Expand full comment

While I am a creator on Substack, I’m writing this as a reader of dozens of free newsletters on this platform. I also monetarily subscribe to 19 newsletters (mostly under my “reader” login, not my creator login) of my choosing. At this point I do not have subscriptions enabled on my newsletter and will not for the foreseeable future. I realize that many of you do and that you want your newsletters to make money and I applaud you for that.

However, with the new feature on Substack to allow for preview posts, reading many of the free newsletters I subscribe to and read religiously has become very frustrating. No longer am I emailed only the free subscription newsletters, I’m now being emailed many more. After reading and being semi-interested in a newsletter with the preview feature, I’m seeing that I will need to pay to read further. I’ve learned to recognize what these look like in my email before I start reading them and I just delete them. If it was a newsletter that I was only marginally interested in, I unsubscribe. I’ve unsubscribed from a couple dozen in the last week or so.

I don’t have enough money to subscribe to every creator I would like to support, nor do I have the time to really read all the free newsletters I do subscribe to; maybe this is the way for me to cull my free subscriptions to the ones that mean the most to me; the ones that I’ll willing to put up with preview posts on, to continue reading the free posts.

My intent with these comments is to provide a perspective that creators may not have thought about when using this new feature. I’m not against the new feature, but it’s like all shiny new objects presented to us, it can be overused and have the opposite affect that the creator was intending. For me as a reader, this is exactly what has happened. Thank you for listening.

Expand full comment

I just wanted to share my most popular piece for creatives as the odds are against us. I hope it helps you to keep writing and keep plugging away at your substacks. https://youtopianjourney.substack.com/p/why-create

Expand full comment

Hey, all! I tried audio for the first time! Woot! Check it out and let me know what you think? https://ashasanaker.substack.com/p/sht-to-help-you-show-up-october-22

It was way easier than I thought it would be, though friends have definitely convinced me that a proper microphone is necessary if I want to do more of this, so one should be arriving today. It was great to find a way to tweak/expand what I'm doing with my newsletter in a way that feels very authentic to me, my strengths, and my interests.

Expand full comment

Hi! My name is Meghan, and I've recently been investing a lot of my time into my newsletter on visual culture topics. I like to write about all sorts of things, but in particular, I've been working on a series that examines the current season of the reality television show Survivor as well as reflects on the show's impact on American pop culture.

While I've been enjoying writing about Survivor, I am a little bit worried that it might be turning off readers that might be into my other works but not particularly interested in delving into reality television. Any advice on how to potentially mitigate this potential issue?

Expand full comment

I am relatively new to Substack but my subscriber list is growing slowly. I currently do no marketing nor social media outreach. I only do posts but am thinking to experiment with Threads as a way to reach out to readers for what they would like to hear more about. As a newbie can you guide when to use a Post and when to use a Thread. I currently post daily.

Expand full comment

Hello Team!

I write 10+1 Things where I curate and share 11 interesting stories every week. This means in a week I have a minimum of 15+ links every week.

I have couple of requests for the product team:

1. Include a broken link checker. Recently found that around 50+ links were broken and I had to use a 3rd party website for analysing it. Can Substack create some sort of a notification where there is a broken link?

2. Can we get more analysis on links and clicks on a post? Would be great if I could know how many clicks each link got including some demographics. Right now I use a shortener for this purpose.

3. Can we have more data on how a user subscribes to a newsletter? Right now it's very hard to understand how the user arrived on the newsletter. Also would love to see if Substack can offer some demographics on the audience.

4. Can we have a small metric that predicts the number of subs by end of year? Personally this helped me a lot to get motivated as I'm always motivated by the audience I would have by the EOY. ( If anyone in the comment requires this, ping me as I've made a simple Google sheet for the same!)

Keep up the good work!

P.S: Also, I'm open to cross-promotion. If anybody is interested, feel free to ping me!

Keep inspiring!

Expand full comment

Has the Substack data science team taken a look at how IOS 15 is affecting open rates on Substack? It would be nice to see some updated figures regarding what a “good” open rate is.

Expand full comment

Is there an option to publish an article without emailing it to everyone? I'm trying to build a glossary page for my substack about climbing, outdoor, and mountaineering terms I refer to often. I think it will be useful, though not necessarily something people want an email about

Expand full comment

I used Twitter to post today and it immediately increased my readership. Is there a way to Tweet one part of a newsletter separately?

Expand full comment

I just figured how to make a whole new way of writing. Here's one rather pedantic Chapter. There are 36 altogether. I'm so PROUD of myself:

https://vimeo.com/showcase/8964693

Expand full comment

Still loving Substack as this fabulous platform for us to dive deep into writing and sharing no matter what profession we are in. Love the new tools being offered. I’m still nervous about starting my first podcast to go over meditation and tools to mange stress. We will see. I write Physician Healer weekly articles about how I as a person am navigating the changes going on around me these days and how to let old stories and patterns fall off allowing new ones to emerge through sharing personal stories so people will know they are never alone in their journey.

Expand full comment

Hi all - Always appreciate the opportunity to connect with the writer community here. Thanks for hosting this.

I have a question about the new product improvements that were just rolled out — namely the ability to embed files.

Because I share original music, one thing that might open a door to monetization for me (my newsletter is currently free) would be to offer MP3 downloads to paying subscribers. Any chance that format could be added to the embed options?

Expand full comment

What the best workflow for writing? I currently use a haphazard one with typing in Google Docs or on Grammarly and then copy pasting it into Substack when ready. Are there any features on the horizon that will allow writers to import their writing when it’s ready for publishing?

Expand full comment

How have you found readership on the Substack comics? Is there a plan to continue development in that space? Finally, what would you say to someone who's planning to launch a comic on Substack?

Expand full comment

Hello fellow writers! I am putting together some tips and tricks for Marketing your SubStack newsletters. Things like 6 ways to optimize your articles for search. And this one about customizing your Subscribe buttons to increase sign ups with persuasive copywriting: https://pau1.substack.com/p/get-readers-to-smash-that-subscribe

Thanks😀

Expand full comment

Hi all! Just stopping by late after work today to say I'm proud to have finally gone public with my first post yesterday! Please feel free to check it out at https://stresscode.substack.com/!

Expand full comment

any advice for writers trying to build an audience for a serial fiction substack?

Expand full comment

Nice chatting with all of you. If any of you are looking to cross promote -- feel free to shoot me an email at colenobleclimbs@gmail.com.

I write about the outdoors, climbing, and hiking. Hit me up if you think our audiences would be compatible!

Expand full comment

I would like to ask a question about paid podcasts ... if a podcast is only designed to be for paid subscribers, it doesnt really make sense to make available on itunes and the podcatchers, right? because then anybody can have access to them.

Expand full comment

I’ve finally connected my Substack to Twitter! Besides this, how do I attract more readers? Should I look for a like-minded Facebook group?

Expand full comment

How do I obtain a fellow substack writer's e mail address so I can write directly to him and make my communication private

Expand full comment

If anyone wants to join our Twitter group, follow me @youtopianJ and shoot me a message, I will add you, could get you some new eyeballs.

Expand full comment

Are the podcast available for everyone on Apple or only newsletter subs (free or paid depending on how we set it up)? Also, I don't seem to have a podcast link to share. When I click on "copy link" on Apple podcasts it then says it's an RSS feed and nothing populates. Lastly (I know, so many questions!) how long does it take for a title change? I just changed the title of the podcast on Substack and it still shows as the old title on Apple Podcasts.

Expand full comment

The stats really need to be more granular.

Expand full comment

I would like to know how to make my newsletter more "discoverable" on substack. I have thousands of subscribers at Wine Wanderings, free and paid. Yes, when you put "wine" in the search criteria, my newsletter does not even come up! What do I need to do to make it more discoverable on Substack? Thank you, Tricia

Expand full comment

Is anyone here writing a humor column that is not political? I'd love to give it a read.

Expand full comment

Hey, I'm Cole -- I write Cole's Climb about news and stories from the outdoor world. I'm recently adding a news section. I know substack suggests doing a "launch week" for going paid. Any advice on something similar for a new offering on a newsletter like mine?

Expand full comment

In addition to my nonfiction articles about storytelling, this week I launched my second YA fantasy novel that I'm serializing on Substack. I'd love to hear from other fiction writers about how things are going, if you are managing to grow your subscriber base, and what has worked best for you. As I noted in a comment here, I hope to do some BookFunnel promos soon, but I'm keen to hear other ideas.

Expand full comment

My second question for the day - I want to kick off a second (and possibly third) newsletter that will be focused on entirely different audiences. Is it possible to have a different profile/about me for each one?

Expand full comment

I am looking for other newsletters that might be willing to share a Thanksgiving related newsletter. My theme is how we can use the holiday to build bridges and mend our fractured relationships.

Expand full comment

Hi y’all! Just finished a series of spooky posts for Halloween at PopPoetry. I’m just “popping” in to renew my English major-y request to have post titles and subtitles show italics. Is this possible? Are there downsides?

Expand full comment

I launched the podcast to narrate my stories and that of other Latinx writers. I added an image, however, the image is not populating on Apple podcasts. How do I remedy this?

Expand full comment

1. Hi, Due to recent regulations of reserve bank of india, the large share of card payments are facing failures in india. Especially auto debit / recurring payments. How can i address this while i went for paywall? Is there any options for payments in india other than cards?

2. Why substack doesn't allow use different text colours and left / right image alignment

Expand full comment

Hi! I have a free and a paid version of my Substack subscription, and when it’s listed on the Substack website, it shows when I launched it and the price of the paid subscription. (If you search quote of the day and find Taylor Jeane Quotes you’ll see what I mean.) Is there anyway I can hide the price from that listing or say that there’s also a free version? I’m afraid new people will find my Substack but chose to not subscribe because they only see the price of my paid subscription and don’t realize that I also offer a free version. I already looked in the settings tab, but can’t find where I can adjust this, although I might be missing something. Thank you so much! 😊

Expand full comment

Loving the product improvements. Curious if there's any consideration being given to the idea of having linkable segments within a newsletter for the purposes of a table of contents? I know this wouldn't be possible within an email, but I'd love to give my newsletter a navigable table of contents on Substack's website.

Expand full comment

I love these, going to be dope!

Expand full comment

Hi Katie, I'm in Australia and this is held at the wrong time for me, but it's great to have as a reference. Question for you: Just been wondering if there is perhaps an index somewhere of all Substack publications. I write fiction, but I would like to know if there are any general science publications, for example. This does seem like a no-brainer to me so I’m sure an index exists. Be good to know where to look.

Cheers

David

Expand full comment

Not a single comment on my first newsletter -- how do I encourage readers to leave a comment without being obnoxious? :)

Expand full comment

My more recent stuff may possess a higher measure of erudition , but this still sparkles

ON MY MADNESS

I stand aloof, august, austere

I silence suns with bluest sphere

These eyes that singe and flare and glare

And never, ever, shed a tear

My blood is royal, cold and blue

The world at large I do eschew

The "friends" I've known have not a clue

Why I stew a witch's brew

I hate you, hate you, yes I do

The way my mind is so askew

The world's a gawking, catty crew

Listen to the lies they spew

They whisper in the dark of night

Guffaw and giggle in broad daylight

"He's crazy, he suffers, see his plight"

Lot's wife’s progenic blight

And so they say some wayward gene

Made me mad, distraught with spleen

My ideas they need not glean

Neuronal quirks of blood unclean

With lots of psychiatric spite

And technocratic talk quite trite

They claim their drugs will set things right

In tactless tracts of thinking light

But I can tell you such a tale

Of horror and an infant's wail

Of how the World made me assail

And rave and rant and hit like hail

So come survey this paper trail

Of poems, polemics, that pierce the veil

Let your mind set-out and sail

And you'll be capsized in a gale

Expand full comment

Hi sorry for jumping on late, another crazy morning.

If anyone is still checking out the Hours, a quick question: has anyone used TikTok to help with promoting their newsletter and/or brand? Any tips / insights? Thanks! - George

Expand full comment

Thanks all and thank you Substack. I am open for shout outs, feel free to subscribe, it could help you! https://youtopianjourney.substack.com/

Expand full comment

I still hope you will be able to make office hours available in the afternoon for West Coast working folks. I can never make the morning ones.

Expand full comment

I just noticed that in this thread both of my substack blogs come up, yet I have yet to publish one on 'It's Personal.' How and why does this happen? and is there a way to turn the one off until I start to publish on it?

Expand full comment

My substacks are an average 12-16 minute read, too long? What do you all think? Less is more?

Expand full comment

I started a website on Substack on or about this past August 13. I haven't done anything with it yet, except start a draft, only about one page so far. I'll get to a point where I'll want to hit the 'publish' button. But, if I hit the 'publish' button I'm sure I'll want to add further drafts to what I've published, making it all one document instead of a series of separate documents, ending up with at least a booklet or short book, maybe even a longer book. Is it possible to make it one document instead of a series of shorter pieces? If it's not possible, should I just continue my draft beyond one page, indefinitely, until I someday decide I have a whole, complete writing and go ahead and hit the 'publish' button?

One more question: After deciding on the name of my website while starting it up, I was asked to briefly name what the website will be about. I wrote in, "Philosophy of human reason". That became the permanent fixture stating what the website is about, which all will see when they call up my website. That's ok. That's what it's about, but I want all main words to start with capital letters. I want the purpose of the website to read, "Philosophy of Human Reason". I haven't found a way to make that change. Can that change be made without taking down the whole website and starting over?

I thank you for allowing me to comment and ask these questions. Mike Kevitt mkkevitt@yahoo.com

Expand full comment

Hi - I write a newsletter about digital and innovative new businesses. Newfangled.Substack.com ; are there any other women talking about innovation and tech here? It would be great to meet you!

Expand full comment

I post every week on Substack My walks with Stanley about 800-900 words plus links etc.Right now its free and I plan to keep it that way, but I'm in the nascent stages of creating a new blog called 'It's Personal' which would be a subscriber model. It would include my 'personal' thoughts, conjectures etc. about what's going on in the world today as well the occasional short story (fiction mainly). Has anyone else tried publishing two separate blogs on the same platform and if so, what would you suggest as a good path forward.

Expand full comment